HB-OMG!

Hello, ‘ello, ‘ello, Scribblers!  J Monkeys here.  I saw this nifty little joke a few months ago on Facebook and I thought I’d share it.

🙂  He-he.  Cute, huh?  But it got me to thinkin’.  I love True Blood and Rome.  And lots of folks have been recommending something to me.  Even though it really isn’t quite my cup of tea, I decided to give Game of Thrones a try. 

Have you read this series by George R.R. Martin?  It took me a while to get through the first book, about a week (compared to the five hours it took me to read All for You, Lynn Kurland’s newest romance, out this week), but I liked it.  I had a hard time picturing Game of Thrones in my head, though.  See, when I read a book, I’m basically watching a movie in my head where I (of course) star as the heroine. 

I finished Game of Thrones (technically the first book in the Song of Ice and Fire series) last week, and then on Tuesday of this week, my town library called me saying that something I had reserved a while ago and forgotten all about, had come in.  You guessed it: disc one of season one of HBO’s series, Game of Thrones.  

I picked it up today and watched the first two episodes whilst folding a mountain of laundry.  I loved the show, but I don’t think I would have liked it as much if I hadn’t read the book.  Does that make sense?  I loved seeing the world I had read about come to life, but again, since that kind of fantasy is just a kissin’ cousin to my favorite stories (medieval romance, especially time travels) I don’t think I would have connected with the story as much if I didn’t already know what was going on. 

HBO’s Game of Thrones is almost as good as True Blood.  Really, the only things missing are: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and  

Alcide and Eric Northman may have their obvious charms, but I’ve gotta tell you, Lafayette is truly my favorite True Blood character.  Nelsan Ellis is a brilliant actor.

Today’s secret: Try new stuff, you might find that you like it.

Today’s question: What have you read lately that was off the beaten path?  Or at least a stray from your usual path?  Did you like it?

 

5 thoughts on “HB-OMG!”

  1. I’m just finishing up Jessica Andersen’s latest Magic Unchained. Then it’s on to Kristan Higgins new one Somebody To Love, and then I’ll be reading RUNNING, a political women’s fiction novel by indie author Patrice Fitzgerald. I have very eclectic reading habits:-) Have not seen or read Game of Thrones. looks interesting. I’ll check it out. Thanks for the recommendation J.

    1. I’m pretty eclectic too – I just picked up the newest in the 39 Clues series at Niecey-Poo’s book fair yesterday and Pete the Cat is a new favorite with my boys. I’m also in the middle of Vlad’s Confessions (or something like that). It’s fun! 🙂

  2. I have been watching Game of Thrones for a couple of seasons now but I do find the amount of violence, adult language, nudity ande sex a bir overdone. I think that it is to give all of these attractive young women a chance to flaunt it as auditioning for further risque roles. Kathi won’t watch it anymore like she won’t read Anita Blake anymore.

  3. I keep hearing about Game of Thrones. At this point I don’t think I have the time to invest in reading a series of that length/density, so I’ll probably try to find it in audio or watch the DVDs. Thanks for the man candy == yowza! I wouldn’t have had the guts to put both of them on the same blog page for fear of smokin’ out the circuits or something. We all appreciate the risk you took 🙂

Leave a Reply

