REAL VIRTUE Chosen for a Book Club Read

Hello Scribers, Katy Lee here. For the month of May, my latest release, Real Virtue, has been chosen for a book club read. The International Book Club of Clean Reads asked me to join their group, and I did, but not without weighing the costs of being a part of something like this. The biggest one being … it will cut into my writing time. (sigh) But in the end, I figured that the benefits of joining a book club far outweigh the costs, and here are a few of those benefits I reap:

1. I am exposed to reading material that I might otherwise pass over, or never hear of—and that includes people hearing about my books. But if I keep my mind open, I can learn about others’ experiences and how they have opted to look at the world as a result of them.

2. A book club keeps me in touch with the world. That doesn’t solely mean reaching readers, but also reading different genres and literature that expose me to different viewpoints I may not have encountered otherwise. It can only better my writing.

3. It’s a safe place to exchange and challenge ideas. Many times I just don’t like a book, but in the discussions I am able to listen to others share what they did like, and it may help me understand my own thoughts.

4. Readers are bright, knowledgeable and articulate people, and they make great friends. Who doesn’t need friends?

5. It’s an opportunity to make lifetime connections with people that go beyond following you on Twitter or liking your Facebook Fan Page.

The Unlocked Secret: Book clubs can open a lot of doors for writers. And with so many to choose from, you’re bound to find one that will fit your writing style and genre. And perhaps your book will be chosen, too! I know I am blessed for Real Virtue to have been chosen as the next read.

Readers: If you would like to get in on the read, please contact me for the details. The more the merrier!

Question: Do you belong to a book club? What is your biggest benefit? Your cost?

And here is a blurb about Real Virtue:

In a virtual reality game where she can fly, there’s someone aiming to take her down.

 Mel Mesini is a New York City restauranteur and an avid virtual reality world traveler. She’s risen above her misfit life and now bears a striking resemblance to her glamorous gaming avatar. But her successful life—both online and in reality—takes a swerve the night her father is seriously injured in a hit-and-run. Mel is careened back to her judgmental hometown, where being the daughter of the town’s crazy lady had made her the outcast she was. To make matters worse, Officer Jeremy Stiles, the man whose harsh, rejecting words had cut her the deepest, is heading the investigation.

Jeremy knows he hurt Mel and attempts to make amends by finding her father’s assailant. When he realizes she’s the actual target, his plan for reconciliation turns to one of protection—whether she wants his help or not. What he wants are answers, especially about this online game she plays. Is it a harmless pastime as she says? Or is she using it to cover something up? As a faceless predator destroys the things that matter to her, Jeremy knows he’s running out of time before she loses the one thing that matters most—her real life.

 

15 thoughts on “REAL VIRTUE Chosen for a Book Club Read”

  1. Congrats Katy! Is this an on-line book group or a local one?

    And I’ve been a member of our local library’s sci-fi/fantasy book club since it started 6 years ago. I don’t regret a minute of the lost writing time. They’ve witnessed the start of my path to publication, so they’ve listened to many hours of me wondering if my books were good enough (which I’m very grateful for). I have new life long friends. Because of our love for the genre, we talk about everything – tv, movies, other books, life – you name it. And we have a great time!

  2. That is so great, Katy! I have often thought about joining a book club, but for me, my reading time is so limited (even more so than my writing time), that I am very choosy about what I read. I’d hate to HAVE to read something I didn’t particularly enjoy. So far, that has been my main reason for not joining a book club. Maybe it’s time to reassess that and take a chance. Thanks for the inspiration.

    1. Yes, I admit to feeling the same way. Thank goodness I can read fast. :) I have no problem zipping through pages, in fact that is usually how I can judge a book…how much I skimmed over vs. how much I slowed down.

      1. I’ll be honest, with our book group we all don’t read the books. I know if I don’t like a book, then I’ll skip it. Life’s too short to suffer through unenjoyable books! We’re small and informal and it works for us. We spend a lot of time enjoying each other’s company!

  3. I forgot to mention the winner of Jessica Nelson’s book, Love on the Range is BN100…contact me at katylee AT katyleebooks DOT com to give me your info. And Congrats!

  4. That’s incredibly cool, Katy! I’ve been in book clubs, and it was fun to be around other people who really, truly, loved books and wanted to talk about them. I’m so excited to hear that your book is getting that kind of attention!

  5. Great post Katy, and good advice. Your book being chosen is almost as good as Oprah selecting it as a number one, don’t you think? I am pleased that you can participate in the book club. I belonged to one a long time ago. It opened my eyes to the world around me, and gave me new ability and insight in processing information. It was a positive experience. Now, I do not have time, but it is ideal for writers.

Leave a Reply

