Review of MY STUBBORN HEART by Becky Wade

Greetings, Katy Lee here, bringing you my thoughts on my most recent read. But before I do that, I want to remind you that REAL VIRTUE is the Book of the Month for The Clean Reads Online Book Club. You have all month to join them. So click on the link to get details. And I appreciate it, for sure!

Now back to my review…

Normally, I am a fast reader, but Becky Wade had me slowing down to absorb each and every exceptionally placed word on the page. I didn’t want My Stubborn Heart to end…even though parts of it hurt to read. A lot.

HEROINE: Kate Donovan has prayed for a husband and has now come to the town of Redbud, PA for a break from her childrens’ services/social work job, which having worked in a simliar position, I can understand the need for a break. She’s there to renovate her grandmother’s childhood home. She’s spunky and quick-witted. She’s petite and funny. She has a beautiful, pure heart and someone I would love to be friends with. The one thing I wished differently for her was that she wasn’t so down on herself about her looks. Yes, she had been dumped a few times, but even the beautiful people of the world have been. I didn’t see any past experience in her life that would make her see herself in this light.

BUT having said that…I suppose when the hero is some beautiful, world famous athelete who could have any woman in the world, ANY simple woman would wonder if she was worthy to be on the arm of that guy.

And speaking of the HERO: Matt Jarreau is all that! I typically don’t like jocks, because of their ego, but he is the exception. The story is not so much about his ability on the ice, but about his pain. He is wounded and hiding. Yes, he is beautiful, but he is not superficial, and, man, does he know how to treat a woman–when he sets his heart on her, that is. He has a family who loves him and hates to see him hurt. They pray for him. They pray for someone to reach him. And God answers that prayer.

But sometimes God doesn’t answer our prayers the way we think He should. And that’s all I will say about that. 🙂

READ IT! You’ll be glad you did. My Stubborn Heart is filled with insight and great writing, tidbits to take away and ponder later…and even savor.

*A thank you goes to the publisher for sending this to me in return for an honest review.

The Unlocked Secret and BONUS: Becky Wade will be visiting the Scribes this Wednesday, May 9th all day! So be sure to stop by and see what she has to say. I’ll give you a hint…It’s about castles!

Question: What book are you reading right now? Does it have you slowing down to savor every word?

14 thoughts on “Review of MY STUBBORN HEART by Becky Wade”

  1. Thanks for the review of the book. It sounds like a sweet read. I look forward to hearing more about the author on Wed. I’m still trying to get through Jess Andersen’s latest Night Keepers book, Magic Unchained. Not because it isn’t awesome, which it is, but because I’m struggling to carve out some reading time. I have so many great books on my TBR list that reading just feels like another chore on my ToDo list. I’m very much looking forward to taking a vacation next week. Maybe then, I’ll have time to get back to finishing the darn book. Of course, my incentive is that Kristan Higgins’ book, Somebody To Love is next up!

    1. I know what you mean about reading feeling like a chore lately. But I have to remind myself that if it wasn’t reading, I would not be on the journey of writing. Reading will always be my first love. It needs to be, otherwise the shine wears off of writing real fast. And I don’t want that to happen, either.

      Enjoy, Jess’ book, and I’ve got Kristan’s book on my kindle ready to go too!

    2. I’ve been struggling to carve out reading time, too! I’ve managed a little lately, but not nearly enough. I miss it. Looking forward to summer!

  2. I loved My Stubborn Heart! I agree, Katy, I thought sometimes the heroine was a little too fixated on not being pretty enough, but I also really empathized with her feelings. She’d done everything right, she was a nice, good person…so why was finding The One so hard? So many women I know (and myself included, long ago) have that same frustration. I loved the home renovation outer story, and oh! I loved Matt! And I loved Kate’s unwavering sense of purpose for both herself and him. It was a lovely story, and the faith element was very natural and gracefully interwoven, I thought. NIce job, Becky!

    1. Totally right, Kristan, on all accounts, and I’ll admit, I’ve been there, too. 🙂 Maybe I’ve been married so long I forgot.

      Anyway, I loved Kate’s stubborn heart. Her unwavering sense of purpose, as you so perfectly put. I had to ask myself if I would or could have been so driven to not give up on him. I think if someone kept telling me to leave them alone, I would out of respect of their wishes. I think back to how many times I have done just this, when perhaps, I shouldn’t have given up on them so quickly.

    2. Fun to see you here, Kristan! Thanks for your kind words about My Stubborn Heart. As usual, you rock. 🙂

  3. I’m very intrigued!! Great review, Katy – and it sounds like an awesome book. Going to have to check it out. Thanks for the great post, and congrats on Real Virtue being a book club selection!! That’s another one I’ve added to my TBR and can’t wait to dive in to!!! 🙂 Blessings!

    1. Thank you, Marianne. SO excited to see you back on the Scribes!

      Everyone, if you don’t remember Marianne, she visited us a couple months ago to share about her book, Devotion, due out this fall. Sure to be a keeper.

  4. That was a very nice review, Katy. I will have to place that on the list of books to download to the Nook. Right now I’m not reading because I’m working on a marketing plan and I’m editing. The next book on the TBR list is … oh, let me see … Real Virtue. 😉

    1. Oh, yuck! Marketing??? Don’t even mention that word to me. 🙂 Just when I think I can get back to writing, a marketing opp rears it’s head. I’ve yet to learn how to juggle both.

      You will love My Stubborn Heart, but I can’t wait to chat with you about Real Virtue!

  5. Thank you very much, Katy, for reading My Stubborn Heart, for taking to the time to review it, and for graciously telling others about it. Looking forward to hanging out on The Scribes on Wednesday!

  6. Thanks for the heads up with My Stubborn Heart. Your review has me curious. My reading has been scant, but Kristan’s new book Somebody to Love is waiting on my Kindle.

Leave a Reply

