Cal’s Double Chocolate Cherry Cookies

Good day, 7 Scribes fans!

Calder Quinne here, stepping in for Casey Wyatt. She’s busy writing her next novel, Mystic Storm about Zephyr. Seriously, I don’t understand why the old wind bag, excuse me, God of the West Wind needs his own novel.

Whatever.

In case you don’t know me, I’m a demigod son of Ares and am madly in love with Nix, my sexy, sea nymph wife (see Mystic Ink for more details). Since my retirement from the Delian League (supernatural police force for all you newbies out there), I’ve become the proprietor of a bake shop – S’more to Love.

One thing I quickly learned was that women (and a lot men too) love chocolate with an almost fanatical obsession. Chocolate is worshipped to the point that I’m sure you won’t be surprised to learn there is a Goddess of Chocolate -Ixcacao. Supposedly, she’s part of the Aztec pantheon, but no one’s seen her in centuries.

I’m here to share one of my wife’s favorite recipes. I can vouch these cookies will put a smile on any chocolate lover’s face.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 cup butter or margerine, softened
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond extract (if don’t have it, substitute 1 teaspoon vanilla extract instead)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened baking cocoa
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup quick cook oats
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup dried cherries

1. Heat oven to 350 F. In a large bowl, beat sugar, butter, milk, egg, and almond extract with an electric mixer until smooth. Stir in remaining ingredients. Drop dough by rounded tablespoons on an ungreased cookie sheet. I use parchment paper – the cookies bake more evenly and it’s easier to clean. Remember to leave about 2 inches between the dough.

2. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until surface is no longer shiny. Another way to check for doneness – touch the center and if it barely leaves an indent – they’re done. Immediately remove the cookies onto a cooling rack.

Yield: about 4 dozen. But seriously, they won’t last that long.

Thanks for having me today. If you’re ever in Mystic, CT be sure to stop by and say hi. Remember to support your local businesses!

Got any questions? Shoot’em my way!

18 thoughts on “Cal’s Double Chocolate Cherry Cookies”

  1. These look deadly good, Cal. No wonder you and Nix love them. I actually have all the ingredients. I’ll have to try them out. Do they come low fat and sugar free? Just askin’…

    1. Hello PJ Sharon. Seriously? I’d don’t understand the female obsession with fat and sugar. Eat one and enjoy it. Have two and work out longer. Everything in moderation right?

      *Sigh* – Nix tells me I need to work on my people skills. I’ll work on a lower fat version and get back to you.

    1. Why thank you Ms. Ingis, however, I must point out that I’m a man! Casey was kind enough to let me share her blog space today. And I can vouch that she is definitely a bad girl!

  2. I have a recipe for chocolate covered cherry cookies, but I only make them at Christmas time (why, I don’t know). I have to admit being addicted to chocolate … and coffee. Maybe it’s a writer thing?

    1. It must be. When stressed out, Casey often mutters “looks like I picked the wrong day to stop drinking coffee.” I’ve never heard her say that about chocolate. Writers are strange.

  3. They looked positively sinful, which is right up my alley. Thanks so much for the recipe. I’m going to make them for Mother’s Day. If I’m going to indulge in some sinful pleasure so are my daughters.
    It was so nice of you, Cal, to fill in for Casey. Tell her I’m saving some cookies for her so she can indulge her bad girl self. And please, wish her a Happy Mother’s Day for me.

    1. Please enjoy the cookies! I will pass your message onto Casey. I know she is looking forward to relaxing on Mother’s day after tomorrow’s writer’s conference. And I’d like to say Happy Mother’s day to everyone. Thank you for the reminder.

  4. Our favorite holiday cookies are double chocolate cherry cookies although our recipe is a little different – great flavors! Yum!

    1. Well, hello, Julia. I have heard nothing but praise about you from Devlin Ward. I think you made quite an impression on him. I told him, you were not “on the market” (his words not mine). Casey tells me you are awesome baker. Nice to meet you.

      1. Nice to meet you too! Devlin Ward likes my cooking? Cool! Or was it my passion for zombies… in a good way? Casey’s a sweetheart and very talented!

      2. Casey’s blushing. She thinks I don’t see her sneaking peeks at the blog instead of writing. Back. To. Work.

        And Devlin – he’s been reading your books and I think you made an impression on him over at Penny’s Martini Club. He keeps mentioning things like “I’ll never look at butter the same way again” and “grains of paradise.” Any idea what he means?

  5. So funny. Thanks for the cookie recipe Cal ! and for Casey for letting you take over today. I will have to try this recipe soon

Leave a Reply

