Honor Thy Mother

Happy Mother’s Day, Katy Lee here, and in lieu of Mother’s Day, I thought I would share a bit about my heroine’s mom in my Inspirational-Romantic-Suspense, Real Virtue. (FYI-I did post this on Sandra Orchard’s blog last month, sorry if you’ve already read it.)

I’m especially excited to give a little more insight into Arlene Mesini’s character because Arlene was influenced by my own mother. You see, like my mom, Arlene suffers from the horrible brain disease, Schizophrenia. When I set out to write Real Virtue, I did not plan for Arlene to have this disease. Never in my wildest imagination did I think my story would link up with it either, but during my research of online virtual-reality gaming I came across an avatar with this affliction. You see, in Real Virtue, my heroine is a gamer who takes her pastime a little too far. She is living a life that is a bit removed from reality…just like her mother. But in Mel’s case, she has the choice.

It was during my research that I found this video of what a day in the life of a schizophrenic person is like, and in watching this video I knew I had found my heroine’s mother—and the perfect conflict for Mel to face.

A conflict I understood very well.

I’m going to be honest here and say, growing up with someone who has this disease is extremely difficult, and it took me a long time to understand my mother’s pain, but more importantly, to accept her as she is. If I was ever to have a relationship with her, I needed to stop trying to escape from the reality of the situation, (excuse the pun) and get to know her.

And the same goes for Mel.

So, once Arlene was “born,” I knew I had an opportunity to take it one step further and honor my own mom through her. I dedicated Real Virtue to my mom as the strongest person I know. I can only hope Arlene does her justice.

The Unlocked Secret That’s Not Really a Secret: Happy Mother’s Day to all you mom’s out there! Being a mom is the most important thing you will ever do. Take pride in it. You are shaping the world and you ARE making a difference. And remember to honor your own mom today. She, too, made a difference.

Question: So since we’re sharing, tell me something about your mother. But remember, keep it honoring. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Honor Thy Mother”

  1. What a wonderful tribute to your mother. Real virtue sounds really interesting. It’s on my TBR list and after this post I’m going to have to move it up the list so I can read it sooner.
    Have a wonderful Mother’s Day.

  2. Having lost my mom at 16 I missed out on getting past those angsty mom/daughter years and am sad to say I was less than supportive through her illness. In trying to protect myself I pulled away at a time when I had an opportunity to experience a deeper connection with her. It took many years for me to let go of that regret and writing On THIN ICE was my way of “doing things differently.” It was a way for me to say the things I hadn’t said and a very cathartic experience.

    My mother also suffered from mental illness so I know how hard that can be, but she also made many sacrifices on my behalf. She worked incredibly hard to give me a solid foundation for which I’m eternally grateful. I can honestly say she is the strongest person I have ever known and I strive to be all that she hoped I would become.

    Thanks Mom! Enjoy the lilacs…

    1. I love this comment. Yes, I picked up that On Thin Ice was a tribute to you mom, but I like that you were able to say the things you wished you had when she was alive. She hears you now. 🙂

  3. Wow, thank you so much for being so honest and open. It really makes the book even better! I wondered as I was reading if you knew someone close to you who struggled with that disorder because you described Arlene’s character so well. My parents went through an ugly divorce. My mom has been a strong woman and had to raise myself and my brother as a single parent for many years while working a full time job. I also admire her strong faith. Thanks again, Megan

  4. What an awesome tribute to your Mom Katy! One thing I have come to realize in being a mom myself is that we are all moms for the first time at one point in our lives and we struggle through this love, passion for the gifts (children) God has given us in all our strengths and weaknesses and because we do I believe that Moms everywhere are to be honored. So again awesome tribute to your Mom!!!

    1. Thanks, Crystal and I agree. God has really put it on my heart lately to encourage young mothers to take pride in this time in their lives. They can do this!

Leave a Reply

