Refilling the Creative Well

PJ Sharon has left the building! I’m away this week on a much needed vacation. Basking in the sun and having fun in North Carolina while preparing for my #2 stepson’s wedding. After gearing up for last weekend’s fabulous CT RWA Fiction Fest conference and all of this promoting and marketing business, I’m well past due for a break.

The past few months have been a whirlwind of activity for me.
I won’t bore you with all the gruesome and hair-raising details, but needless to say, I’m more than ready to set aside some time to rest and relax. As much as I’m enjoying my new career as an author, I have to say, I’m struggling to get the next book written in the time frame I gave myself. I was able to produce first drafts of my previous books within a few months, so when I set my production schedule, I assumed I would be able to manage the same pace. But that was before I entered the realm of publishing, where 80% of my time would be dedicated to marketing and promoting the three books which I indie-published over the last six months. I’d hoped to complete the next book by July. What planet was I on when I thought I could do that? I don’t think superman had stronger kryptonite than an impossible deadline.

Which leads me to part of the problem. The book I’m working on is the first in a dystopian trilogy. I’ve never written a series…and I’ve never written about a world that doesn’t yet exist…both challenging on many levels, even for experienced writers. The hardest part for me, however, is that my left brain has been working on all cylinders and leaving my right brain creative side in the dust. Now I know better than most how important balance is for good health and optimal performance, so I know exactly what I need to do. Refill my creative well. That requires me to change my focus and perhaps even my expectations.

The good news is that I’m aware of the problem and know what I need to do to fix it. The first thing I need to do is remind myself that I am the boss, a mantra I’ve been practicing a lot lately. What that means is that I can change my deadline date without fear of reprisal from a publishing house. I hate to disappoint readers, but I know they would prefer quality over quantity any day of the week, so I’m hoping they’ll stick with me and be patient. The next step is to kick back and regroup. Fortunately, this trip came at the perfect time. The price I’ll pay for being off-grid for a week will likely be a mountain of e-mails to address upon my return, but the mental break will hopefully give me a chance to kick start that right brain into high gear. When I do return, I’ll need to reassess my marketing plan, get control of my schedule, and revamp my life a bit to carve out time for writing and resume a more balanced writer’s life.

So if I don’t return your e-mails, comment on your blog, or show up on your twitter and Facebook feed, just know that I’ll be back…in limited view…in a week or so. Thanks for all the support, Scribe’s followers, and have a wonderful week! My Scribe buddies will be fielding comments today, so feel free to chime in on any other ideas for balancing my business and writing life. 

2 thoughts on “Refilling the Creative Well”

  1. Paula, your post is marrrr….velous. Have a great whatever you want your respite to be. I am doing the same, but like you, I will do my blog this week. My blog is one of my favorite activities. It is fulfilling while I engage in writing about what I love. That be history and its effects of the past on today, tomorrow and the years following. Enjoy. I look forward to hearing about your time away.

Leave a Reply

