Obsession

Hello wet campers!  It’s pouring here in CT…well it’s supposed to be pouring by the time this post goes live tomorrow am.  J Monkeys here on another happy Saturday.

If you’ve read any of my posts over the past year, this likely won’t come as a shock to you, but I’m just a tiny bit obsessed with True Blood.  Eric Northman, specifically.  I love him.  Especially in season 4, which I bought on DVD yesterday.  As soon as my kiddies nod off, and I’m finished with responsibilities like this post and getting stuff ready for an event I’m doing tomorrow, I’ll be right back in front of the TV.  I’ve got about 10 minutes of episode 5 left to watch – I had to turn it off when the school bus arrived this afternoon.  While I LOVE True Blood, I’m sure we can all agree that it’s wildly inappropriate for anyone under age…well…16ish at least!  And then there are 7 more episodes and some bonus features.  Yippeee!

No, your math skills haven’t failed you.  Somehow I’ve managed to watch 5 hours of TV in the last 24 hours – no mean feat with my brood.  Why am I obsessed with this show?  Aside from the obvious reasons,

Eric Northman
Alcide Herveaux

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

as a writer, I love how the screenwriters manage to end every episode in a dear-Lord-what-will-happen-next kind of cliff hanger.   It’s very difficult not to watch the next DVD.  And it’s not just the beefcake.  This same thing happened with the first few seasons of 24.  I remember laying in bed at night thinking to myself, “Just one more episode,” at 3:00 in the morning because I needed to know what would happen next.

This is an incredible skill for a writer – making a story a page turner, something that people can’t put down.  I haven’t actually read any of Charlaine Harris‘ Sookie Stackhouse books.  I don’t know why…maybe because I understand that the HBO series follows them fairly loosely and one favorite character from the series didn’t make it out of the first book alive.  So I can’t say if the books have this same incredible momentum that just pushes you along with the story, but on HBO, it’s a wonderful ride.

Today’s Secret: Writer friends, study how True Blood, 24 and other shows do this because it is a very valuable skill.  Constantly hook and rehook your audience to keep those readers coming back for more.

Today’s Question: What other shows, movies, plays, books do this well?

4 thoughts on “Obsession”

  1. I haven’t gotten into True Blood. Watched a few episodes and it was good, but I don’t get HBO so I’ll have to try the DVD’s…not that I need one more show I can’t live without! If good plotting and realistic dialogue are the meat and potatoes of a story, cliffhanger chapter hooks and enthralling characters are the bread and butter. You know how I feel about Gabaldon, so I won’t wax poetic about the way she keeps me hanging on for three years between books losing sleep at night wondering what’s going to happen to little Jem. In my own writing, that’s how I know when I’ve reached the end of a chapter–when I organicaly reach a point where my storyline or character says…oh, crap…what are we gonna do now!

    1. I agree! And whilst I was on Charlaine Harris’ site yesterday, I saw that she was in an anthology with Ms. Gabaldon – I thought of you! 🙂

  2. Just to update you all – by midnight, I had finished episode 10. Just 2 more to go…I’m counting the hours until the kids bedtime…just 6ish!

  3. Such a lovely way to start the day, J. We all thank you! I’m obsessed with Downton Abbey (can’t believe I have to wait nearly a whole year to find out what happens next!), and True Blood (I don’t get HBO, so Season V will remain a mystery to me for quite some time as well). I’ve heard great things about Game of Thrones, but I haven’t taken the plunge yet — too many other projects that need finishing before I will even allow myself to think about it!

Leave a Reply

