Interview with Romance Author CH Admirand

Happy Wednesday.  It’s me, Jennifer the Scribe. Oh My Goodness!!!!  I can’t tell you how thrilled I am to have one of Sourcebooks own with us today!!

Please welcome author C.H. Admirand.

1. When did you start writing and what made you want to be a romance writer?

I’ve always loved writing assignments in grade and middle school, but loved my Argumentative Essay and Creative Writing classes in high school. I remember our creative writing teacher nodding as I told her I didn’t know what to write in my journal, and she advised that writing is 99% perspiration and 1% inspiration…I’ve never forgotten that! I wrote poetry and my first short story in high school, but didn’t start writing for publication until years later. I’d written a novel and had no idea what to do next to get it published. I had sent a fan letter to one of our local authors, Elaine Barbieri and mentioned that I was an aspiring writer. She sent a lovely reply with a brochure for the 1995 NJRW Conference…although I had no idea what to expect, I forged ahead and attended only to learn that I needed about 20,000 more words, a blurb, and had to buy a clue because I knew NOTHING about this business. LOL!

2.- What do you find to be the most challenging part of a writing career?  Marketing? The industry or the storytelling?

Actually, it’s the social networking aspect and having to answer the question: So what is your story about? I love writing the story, editing, and polishing the story…talking about it…not so much. I’d rather tell you about my family or our grandbaby. The marketing is something that NJRW drummed into our heads that we needed to do. Self-promo was the only way to go. Someday it would be nice to have a publisher take over all of that, but until that time arrives, Vistaprint is still my best friend!

3.- What has been the best piece of advice you’ve received about writing?

Never give up! You never know just how close you are to receiving that call if you do. To that I like to add, what are they going to say, No? Like I haven’t heard that before! Rejection never made me stronger, but I’ve learned to use it to my advantage. Just as an FYI, I received 99 rejections before getting the call.

 4.- What fellow author would you most like to meet and why?

Through RWA and RT, I have met my favorite authors on more than one occasion: Nora Roberts, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Julie Garwood, Amanda Quick. Hmmm, but now that I think about it, I’d love to have the opportunity to say something coherent to Julie Garwood to make up for a totally fan girl moment. LOL!

5.- Please describe your marketing efforts to promote your latest release.  How much do you do yourself vs. what your publisher does for you?

I was on deadline with two projects when I should have been promoting my latest release. Sometimes there just isn’t enough time to be the author and the marketing guru. However, I still make the time to create brochures, rack cards, post cards, mini-trading cards, business cards, posters, etc. at VistaPrint…they are a fabulous resource, IMHO.  I host contests and give away books as well as the ARCs.

In the past I have had book trailers created, but it wasn’t in the budget this time. I’m not a marketing expert, so I have no idea which marketing tools have been the most effective.

I have changed webmasters a number of times, for a number of reasons, the top reason being turn-around time. Things happen quickly in this industry, given the social networking aspect, and I needed to be able to upload news as soon as it was happening. My new webmaster created my page and gave me instructions for updates, etc. I LOVE being able to handle this.

I have a blog that I try to post to a few times a month. I am part of the Casablanca Authors Blog and post once a month there…the first week of every month Casa Babes hosts launch parties for their authors with giveaways, etc.

I’m on Facebook, Twitter, GoodReads and LinkedIn, and just yesterday broke down and created an author page at FB…it was on my never-ending to-do list! What I need to do and still haven’t is set up a database for a newsletter. I used to have one, but Google groups  reformatted it and I haven’t had time to get to it yet. It’s been on my to-do list! LOL.

I’m a member of RWA, NJRW, RWA/NYC, NINC and Liberty States Fiction Writers. Due to back-to-back deadlines, I haven’t been able to attend many meetings, but I do make it a point to attend RWA and RT when is it close to the East Coast and some of the other conferences and events for writers. It’s important to stay in touch and attend a workshop to keep your skills honed.

Sourcebooks supplies ARCs to their authors and I send them out to reviewer and industry contacts that I have developed over the last 15 years. They send out to their list of reviewers. I have a personal publicist who handles mailings and has a separate list of reviewer contacts that she sends ARCs to.

Sourcebooks arranges for the Virtual Tour for their authors, all we have to do is write up the guest blog or answer the interview questions and return them to Danielle in the PR Department, she is the liaison who handles the rest. It really is a pain-free system. Then as authors, we add our own stops to the Virtual Tour and post it everywhere. Sourcebooks will create ads and bookmarks if there is a big event in the works for your release.

Thank you so much for being with us CH and for the wonderful interview.  I hope we can meet in person sometime soon so I can do my own fangirl “Squee!”

C.H. Admirand’s latest release, JESSE, book 3 in her Hot Cowboy series from Sourcebooks is getting rave reviews and was number 2 in Hot New Western Romance Releases on July 6th.  C.H.’s new Small Town USA series from Sourcebooks will release November 1st with A WEDDING IN APPLE GROVE. BRING ‘EM BACK ALIVE, C.H.’s first digital western romance comic will release on March 1, 2013 and May 1st a special print edition will be released for the Graphic & E-Book Expo at the Romantic Time Book Lover’s Convention in Kansas City. Book 2 in her Small Town USA series, ONE DAY IN APPLE GROVE, will release in June 2013.

To contact C.H. Admirand or read more about her books, you can find her here:

Website:  http://www.chadmirand.com

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/CHAdmirand ,

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/CH.Admirand

Facebook Author Page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/CH-Admirand/493436157349635

Blog:  http://www.romanceauthor-chadmirand.blogspot.com/

12 thoughts on “Interview with Romance Author CH Admirand”

    1. Good question, Joy. Sometimes my schedule works flawlessly…then other times, life gets in the way. When I’m on deadline I like to get an early start, usually 5 or 5:30 am and work until I run out of steam and need to take a break to eat, do chores, walk the dog, etc. When not on deadline, I try to get to email, blogs, social networking, etc. first thing.

  1. There is so much fabulous information here, C — Thanks! Could you tell us a little more about the digital western romance comic? I find myself fascinated by this idea. How will this work? Will it go on indefinitely (subscription based, maybe?), or is the comic a standalone? Is this something you put together yourself with an artist or did a publisher match you up?

    1. BRING ‘EM BACK ALIVE started as a short story-Irish Western Romance because Michael Flynn from my hardcover series needed his story told. 🙂 Sea Lion Books has been fabulous to work with. The process started with the Action Sequence, then fleshing out the script which I turned in a week before it was due. Right now, I’m waiting to see pages from the artist and cannot wait to see my characters in comic form. 🙂

Leave a Reply

