Real Virtue

Hidey-Ho Scribblers!  J Monkeys here.  I want to take a few minutes to review a book I read recently, Real Virtue by our very own Katy Lee. 

In the interests of full disclosure, I should probably tell you that (of course) I know Katy personally and count her a friend.  Unfortunately for her (and my other writing friends) I’m a particularly tough critic when it comes to their writing. I’m not really sure why that is.  Maybe it has something to do with the fact that I’m enough of a newbie for the mystique of the author to linger in my mind.  I’m having a hard time imagining that all these people I know who are getting published these days (go CTRWA!) are real authors.  Maybe I just haven’t met enough of my author idols to realize that they are real people, although it’s beginning to dawn on me.  Clearly, this is a maturity issue for me. 

Maybe like so many other folks out there, I hurt the ones I love the most.  Or maybe I’m afraid that they might not like my review and since I know them I don’t want to hurt their feelings.  With that in mind, let me say, friends, if I haven’t reviewed your book please don’t read anything into it one way or the other.  Seriously!

So, now that that’s out of the way, let me get to the heart of today’s post.  I really, really liked Real Virtue.  Now this is an Inspirational Romantic Thriller.  Yes, that’s a stew of genres, but in this book, it works.  The main characters are nicely conflicted, complex folks full of angst.  The plot is twisty and unpredictable.  And the text is informative about schizophrenia, addiction and woodworking, all without being preachy.  And the writing is very good.

I like romances and I like thrillers (the genre, not necessarily the song.  Click the link and watch the video – I haven’t seen it all the way through in several decades and the beginning is really weird!  What is he, some kind of were-zombie?  I didn’t have MTV as a kid, sorry.  OK, I’m 4 minutes in now…maybe I’ve never seen the whole thing…) but I honestly don’t read Inspirational romance.  Other people’s religions make me a little uncomfortable.  I mentioned my immaturity, right?  My hubby and I happen to both be lapsed Episcopalians and we plan to raise our kids in that faith just as soon as I manage to get up early enough on a Sunday morning to get to an as-yet-to-be-selected church.  We once went to a Lutheran church to see Hubby’s friend play in a touring Lutheran rock band.  I swear I was just waiting for them to roll a golden idol down the aisle, to guarantee our eternity burning in hell.  In case you don’t know, Episcopal and Lutheran are about as close as two religions can be and still warrant separate buildings.  Anyway, I have my beliefs and I’m perfectly happy with you having very different beliefs, just don’t try to convert me. 

So I don’t read Inspirational Romances.  But I must say, I really liked Real Virtue.  Katy did a fabulous job of instilling some of her characters with deeply held, Christian beliefs at their core, but she still made them completely accessible to crazy folks like me.  I honestly can’t wait to read her next book.

Today’s secret: This one should be shouted from the rooftops – READ Real Virtue by Katy Lee!

Today’s question: Have you ever read anything that changed your perspective on an aspect of your life?

6 thoughts on “Real Virtue”

  1. I am sitting here with a huge smile on my face, even though I have a 103 fever and am coughing to the point that little tears of pain squeeze out from the corners of my eyes. :) Ouch.

    I hope my words are coherent.

    Thank you for your honesty, and not only about REAL VIRTUE. (Although, I am pleased you liked it and understood all the important concepts. It means I did my job correctly.) But also the honesty of where you are in your faith. I think most parents would say the same thing about their children. They want them to experience God’s love in some way, but remember, YOU have a Father in heaven who feels the same way and wants the same thing for you. :) And that’s the end of my preaching. :) Oh, except that there are Saturday night services…just saying. ;)

    Thanks again J!!!

    I am presently working on a book trailer for REAL VIRTUE, gearing up for the paperback release this winter!! For now, it can be purchased for Kindle and Nook.

    1. You’re so funny! My real issue at the moment is that my children are terribly behaved at church – it’s fine when my dad is the reverend, but I’d be a bit embarrassed in another church. I’ll get to it – it’s important to me so I’ll get to it eventually! But Thank YOU for writing such a delightful book!

      1. Oh, I understand that. For the first five years of my kids’ lives I probably only heard half of the service because I had to keep getting up and leaving. :)

  2. Hey J, thanks for the wonderful recommendation for Katy’s “Real Virtue.” Enjoyed your sharing about church. Those Sunday mornings are tough after a week of early rising to write and walk. Katy, sorry you are sick, get well quick.

  3. Nice analysis, J. I loved Katy’s book and thought it had just the right balance of tension, suspense, and personal growth through finding one’s faith. That’s tough to do. Inspirational as a genre tends to lean heavily on the God relationship, and I thought Katy did a super job of balancing the human relationships with the spiritual and not sounding preachy at all. Great job Katy Lee!

Leave a Reply

