Still Life in Shadows Author, Alice J. Wisler visits the Scribes!

Happy Sunday! Katy Lee here with Author, Alice J. Wisler. Last week I spoke on my thoughts of her latest release, Still Life in Shadows, and now today I am excited to have Alice here to share more about herself and her fascinating EX-Amish story.

Alice, as authors who have moments of doubt, we always like to ask other authors how they battle their doubt monster. How do you handle that monster?

Thanks for having me, Katy, and that’s a tough one.  Reading about how well other authors are doing while working on a new project can make me feel the doubt.  I try not to compare myself to others.  God made us each as unique vessels and I aim to do my part of being the only Alice like this Alice.  I read some verses on how I’m loved and made by God and then go on a walk (I like to walk 3 miles each day) and that’s when I’ll remind Him that He gave me this desire to write, so please, please, encourage me today.  Encouragement follows—a fan letter, a new idea to my plot, etc. 

Perfectly said. You write like Alice and no one else. But have you thought about writing something that is completely different for you?  Perhaps writing in a new genre or just taking a story someplace that you haven’t done before.

My recent release, STILL LIFE IN SHADOWS, is a new venture for me—it’s my first published novel that is written in third person with two POVs. My other four novels with Bethany House have been written in first person from a single female POV.

Well, you did fabulous with this new venture into third person. I loved all the characters and what each brought to the story.

So now tell us, what is the most surprising thing that has happened in your writing career?

Having Chip MacGregor (whom I have yet to meet) take me on as one of his clients.

He is a wonderful agent and person. I hear great things about him. Congratulations!

Now, what would you do if you couldn’t be a writer any longer?

I think I’d want to be an actress in stage plays.  I love drama!

So how do you come up with your shtick?   By shtick I mean your voice. That thing that identifies the story as belonging to only you.  Perhaps an element to your stories like small towns or a thread of equestrian-life or medieval dialogue…something that says these are the type of stories that are your brand.

I like to think my shtick is quirky, fun, food-related, Southern, humorous and solemn—all mixed into one story.

 And I would have to agree.

What is your junk food of choice?

Let’s see, that would be trail mix, which isn’t too “junky” and chocolate. Oh, and butter pecan ice cream and oatmeal cookies.

Butter Pecan … my favorite.

What’s the most dangerous or risky thing that you’ve done?

Probably that would be sneaking out of the dorm in high school.  We’d climb out windows onto the dorm roof at our dormitory in Kobe, Japan. We were usually successful, but once I did get caught and that was no fun.

Kobe, Japan! Would love to hear more about why you lived there. But first, tell us about your book!

Fifteen years ago, Gideon Miller escaped the Amish lifestyle and now helps dissatisfied youth relocate from Old Order communities. Two unexpected people enter his auto repair shop in Twin Branches, NC—-Moriah, his younger brother with a drug habit, and Kiki, a thirteen-year-old autistic girl with a knack for fixing bicycles. Based on National Geographic’s Amish: Out of Order, Still Life in Shadows (River North/Moody) is a story of running from the past only to find it again, forgiveness, and the deep desire to belong.
 
 
 
Join her on Facebook at her author page: https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Alice-J-Wisler/333751835453
 
 
And of course, her website:  http://www.alicewisler.com
 
Readers: Feel free to leave questions and comments for Alice! Or even words of encouragement.
17 thoughts on “Still Life in Shadows Author, Alice J. Wisler visits the Scribes!”

  1. Hi Alice, thanks for visiting Katy. Sounds like you are an author on a roll. With all your experiences and imagination, I bet you would be great at acting. You could write your own play, and be the main character. You mentioned school in Japan. I would love to hear about your life in Japan. Best blessings to you.

    1. Thanks, Gail! I do get to act a bit in my Sunday school class. The teacher has to make sure I’m the star, of course! :-) I’m in the middle of writing about my childhood in Japan, so hopefully, one day, you can read more when the book is published. Thanks for your comments and well wishes here.

  2. Woo-Wee! I have Alice J. Wisler on my blog! :) (Excuse me while I have a little fan girl moment.)

    Welcome, Alice!

    And READERS: ALICE IS GIVING A WAY A COPY OF “SLIS” TO ONE LUCKY COMMENTER SO BE SURE TO LEAVE A MESSAGE. I WILL ANOUNCE THE WINNER NEXT SUNDAY.

    But Alice, I would love for you to share how your latest came to be. Also, have you come up against some conflict in writing this other-side-of-the-story book?

  3. No conflcit or opposition yet, Katy. But the night is still young . . . What I have heard is that it’s about time an ex-Amish story got out here. I hear from former Amish and those who minister to ex-Amish and they are cheering me on.

  4. I would love to win a copy of Still Life in Shadows. This book sounds so good from the excerpt. It definitely is going on my must have list.

    Blessings!
    judyjohn2004(at)yahoo(dot)com

  5. I’m really looking forward to Alice’s new book. I’ve read many good things about it, and her approach to the Amish leaving their communities is an interesting one. Thanks for a wonderful interview, Katy
    Nancee
    quiltcat26[at]sbcglobal[dot]net

  6. This book does sound very intriguing and have added it to my wish list. Thank you for the opportunity to win the book.

    Blessings,
    Jo

Leave a Reply

