Time Management for Writers by Author, Mary Manners…AND AMAZON GIVEAWAY!

Hello, Katy Lee here with author, Mary Manners! Mary is an award-winning author of inspirational romance who lives in the beautiful foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee with her husband and daughter. She is a member of the Romance Writers of America and Smoky Mountain Romance Writers. In her free time, she likes to garden, take long walks with her husband, and read romance novels in a hammock beneath century-old shade trees.

BUT she also likes to help other authors along the way. And today she is here to share some pointers on Time Management…something we all need, for sure.

And don’t forget to enter Mary’s Tour Wide Giveaway for her latest release, The Wisdom Tree. Rafflecopter – each entrant from each blog stop will be entered into a grand giveaway for a chance to win one of the two prizes up for grabs – a $50 Gift Card (Amazon/BN – winners choice) and  a print set of your (5) books (Wisdom Tree when it debuts in October). Winners will be chosen August 14th.

Now tell us, Mary, about Time Management!!

Thanks, Katy and Scribes for having me today! As a woman who shares time as a wife, mother, teacher and author, I am well-versed in the importance and benefits of time management. How many of us have wished for just one more hour in the day? Well, if you were granted that hour, what would you do with it? It sure is something to ponder.

Over the past several years I’ve uncovered and honed a few simple writing strategies (on the business/marketing side) that work for me. Maybe they will work for you, as well:

1. Make a list: I make a list each evening for the following day, jotting down things I need to do. This way my mind is clear when I go to sleep (fertile for dreaming up new characters and plot lines…yum). Using a list also gives me a sense of accomplishment as I mark off each item.

2. Keep a calendar: I map out tasks by day, week, month and year. This includes writing deadlines, release dates, promotional commitments and marketing opportunities, blog posts, speaking engagements, etc. Keeping a calendar also creates a record of my writing time and activities for tax purposes.

3. Create folders: This includes both virtual and hard copies. I separate my emails into folders for ads and invoices, submissions, supplies purchased, newsletters, etc. I also keep a hard copy of everything submission or tax-related, in separate folders. I have learned that it takes less time to be organized than it does to hunt for something I need and can’t find.

4. Keep a hard copy of every submission, with notes and details, so you can easily refer back to what has been sent. I use expandable file folders to do this, and keep them together on a shelf in the order they were submitted.

This is just a short list of some of the writing-related strategies that have helped me. Now, I’d love to hear some of your strategies. Please, share…

Thank you, Mary for these great pointers! And readers, please do share your time management strategies.

You can keep in touch with Mary at her Website:  http://www.marymannersromance.com/

And don’t forget to enter the Give Away!!!

CLICK HERE: a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

16 thoughts on “Time Management for Writers by Author, Mary Manners…AND AMAZON GIVEAWAY!”

  1. I do like the idea of keeping folders for emails we need to keep. I like keeping one for each one of my books, one for receipts, and other things that I will need to refer back to. Thanks for sharing your ideas. Blessings, Deborah H. Bateman-Author

  2. Great tips, Mary. I especially like the list before bed idea. I am a huge fan of lists. I don’t make one every night, but you’re right, I sleep and dream more productively when I do. I would like to think I would spend the extra hour a day in prayer and meditation if I had one. Or on daily exercise. Those are the things that seem to suffer when I’m super busy, and keeping balanced, mentally, physically, and spiritually is the most beneficial time management tool there is. Thanks for being here, today.

  3. Great tips. I seem to always need more time in the day. I make a weekly list of things I need to do during the week, but something always creeps up and throws my schedule off. I’ll have to try your daily list and see if that isn’t more productive for me.
    Thanks so much the tips and sharing.

  4. Mary, you created more for me to ponder. I have always kept lists, it is a productive method for life management. If I had an extra hour, my list would get longer. But this past Saturday, I took an hour away. I went to a women’s body care training. I took away time meant for sleep, 5:30-6:30 AM.That means I must go to sleep earlier. A big decision, but important to keep my bones strong. My lists will continue to run my life. A valuable tool. Thank you for your visit. Katy, thanks for inviting Mary.

  5. I have to make lists also. I’m finding as I get older that I forget anything not wrote down. Once I called my neighbor and when she called me back I couldn’t remember what I wanted to talk to her about. LOL!! Now I write the name and reason I need to call someone.

  6. These are great ideas! Thanks. I also keep email folders — invaluable because I have different projects and organizations I belong to, and it’s the only way to keep it all straight. I’m also a big fan of the search feature in my email program, LOL! But I still keep physical file folders (I get the pretty folders from Staples to make filing more fun) for certain things; others go into three ring binders. Yeah, I love office supplies :) As for lists, I make them, but don’t always do the stuff on them. Trying to get better about that.

Leave a Reply

