Happy November 1!

Hello all, Suze here. Happy November!

By now, I’m sure you know that today is the first day of National Novel Writing Month. (Really? There’s someone out there who doesn’t? Okay, then, click here for a link) There are going to be more Scribe posts about NaNo throughout the month, so stay tuned. But I thought I’d tell you about a few other reasons that November 1 is significant, courtesy of Wikipedia. Today’s Scorpio-licious Birthdays include:

  • Peter Ostrum, 1957. Who the heck is Peter Ostrum, you ask? Well, he’s the actor who played Charlie in the original Charlie and the Chocolate Factory movie. Factoid: the grown-up Peter Ostrum is a large animal veterinarian (edited to add: please see my comment below regarding the importance of punctuation in a sentence such as this!)who owns a vet clinic in Lowville (pronounce that “low” to rhyme with cow, brow, etc.), New York, right near the AMF bowling pin factory and the Kraft cheese plant. Let’s all hoist a fizzy lifting drink!
  • Louis the Stammerer, 846. Poor Louis, King of Aquitaine and Francia. Not only did he apparently have a stammer, but he did not rule for long, died at the age of 33, and gave his daughter the unfortunate name of Ermentrude. She had a daughter with the even more unfortunate name of Cunigunde. I guess it’s not always good to be the king.
  • Marcia Wallace, 1942. You might not recognize the name, but Marcia played Carol the receptionist on the Bob Newhart Show and still voices Mrs. Krabappel on The Simpsons. Love you, Marcia! Ha!
  • Jim Steinman, 1947. You also might not know this name, but you know the music. This songwriter will forever have a special place in my heart as the man who gave me such classics as Paradise by the Dashboard Light, Two Out of Three Ain’t Bad, and You Took the Words Right Out of My Mouth. Jim and Meat Loaf, I thank you. Whether my son and husband thank you, I don’t know. Because they seem to run screaming from the room when I crank up your music as I’m dancing with the vacuum cleaner.

Have a lovely day, and if you’re participating in NaNo, quit reading and get back to work! Even if you’re not NaNo-ing, I’ll bet you’ve got other projects you’d like to finish before the end of the year. Why not use the communal energy NaNo generates (well, maybe that’s just the coffee and Red Bull!), pick a project, and take some steps to get it done? Can you share? 

14 thoughts on “Happy November 1!”

  1. How large is Dr. Ostrum, the “large animal vetrinarian”? Are we talking antediluvian Augustus or postprandial Violet?

    1. As Edna Krabappel would exclaim, again, Ha! Important lesson here. Who exactly is “large” in that sentence, above–the animal, or the veterinarian? Correct punctuation would have been “large-animal veterinarian.” I think we’re talking Violet proportions, here, Uncle R-F. She, though violet/blue, was much nearer to cow-size than Augustus. Now I wish I had some gum.

    1. Ooh, that looks like a good book! Will put it on the TBR list. I’m sure you’ll get your gettin-stuff-done mojo back soon, JF!

  2. Howdy! I’m so picturing a meatloaf-athon during our January writing escape! Ok Nanwrimo – 1 day down, 2207 words, 1 chapter. Wahoooo! Now I’ve got an hour to get the house in a teensy bit of order before the kids come home and wreck it again. 🙂

    1. Sounds great! I’ll bring the tunes. But just don’t expect me to vacuum! WTG on the Day 1 word count, Monkeys. I’m already behind 🙂

Leave a Reply

