Winnah, Winnah, Chocolate Dinnah!

Hi, all. Suze here. We have a winner in last week’s Valentine’s Day Giveaway: Gail Ingis! Gail, I’ll contact you to make arrangements to get you your prize.

I have lots going on this week so I thought it would be fun to let you know what I’m reading right now. Yes, I tend to flit from book to book and usually have several going at once. How do I choose which one to read? It largely depends on (1) where I set the book down last, and if I can find it again (sometimes not for days/weeks/months later!); (2) whether my Nook is charged; and (3) whether I can get the iPad away from the teenaged Crown Prince so I can use the Kindle App. Here’s what I finished this week:

Buried in a Bog by Sheila Connolly. (Ebook, Nook) This is a wonderful little cozy mystery that just hit the NYT Bestseller list and is the first in a new series. It’s about an American woman who travels to Ireland to learn about her heritage, and ends up finding a home. It’s a little bit darker, a little bit slower paced (and slower paced is not always a bad thing!), and a lot more introspective than most cozies. Loved it!

Nameless Cowboy/Cowgirl Romance by unnamed author. (Mass Market Paperback) Honestly, I did not love this book. In fact, I didn’t love it enough that I’m not going to tell you what it was about or who wrote it (nobody I know personally, BTW!). I will say that this is by a prolific author, and lots of other people apparently don’t agree with me because it has sold lots and lots of copies. So, to each his own! But I’ll be giving this one back to the person who lent it to me, with no regrets.

Manuscript Written by a Friend. (Word doc, on computer) One of the things we writers do for each other is read and critique each other’s manuscripts. I finished one this week–with just a little bit of polish, this is ready to go out into the world. It’s a romantic suspense, fresh with a fun premise, and with a great heroine and a sexy Portuguese hero. I predict a sale this year!

Now that I’ve told you what I finished this week, here’s what I have in progress:

Penelope (A Madcap Regency Romance), by Anya Wylde. (iPad, Kindle app) I’ve fallen a bit in love with this indie-pubbed Irish author (just a coincidence, btw, all the Irish stuff in this post!) since I read her previous book, The Wicked Wager (A Regency Murder Mystery & Romance). These books are great fun, a bit offbeat, and only 99 cents each–so I recommend picking them both up if you like historicals/regencies. In fact, everybody go buy them, read them, and report back here with questions/comments in a few weeks, when I’ll be interviewing Anya!

Wedding Day Murder, by Leslie Meier. (Mass Market Paperback) This is another cozy mystery by a veteran author. I can’t get enough of Lucy Stone and the inhabitants of Tinker’s Cove, Maine. I’m reading this series out of order–but the author does such a good job of making each a standalone, I can easily keep the stories straight.

Portrait of a Dead Guy, by Larissa Reinhart. (Ebook, Nook) Just getting started on this mystery, but how can you not love this first line? “In a small town, there is a thin gray line between personal freedom and public ruin.” Can’t wait to dig into this one.

How about you? What are you reading these days? Are you a one-at-a-time reader, or do you have several books going at once?

3 thoughts on “Winnah, Winnah, Chocolate Dinnah!”

  1. How do you have time to read anything, is my question. I’m currently in a race to the finish with my WIP (those darn characters keep adding “one more thing”). I know as writers that one of the best things we can do is be consistent readers. When I do read, I try to focus on one book at a time. If they aren’t holding my interest, I’ll skip around to others until I find one I can’y put down.

    The last book I read was the second book in a YA trilogy by Cat Kalen called Pride Unleashed. It was awesome and I’d love to dig into book three, but lately when I hit the pillow, I’m down for the count.

  2. Hi! I love to talk about what I’m reading! Right now, I’m reading 3 books – two with my Niecey-Poo. She’s reading a Black Lagoon mystery to me (if you have readers who struggle – these chapter books are easy to read and a great confidence boost). I’m reading Whatever After – If the Shoe Fits to her. This is a cracked fairy tale series and this second book was just released in January. And I’m re-reading the latest Mallory family romance by Johanna Lindsey – I’ve had it for a while but I just (last week!) learned how to use the Kindle App on my fancy new smart phone so I’m rereading some stuff.

  3. OMG, did I really win? I don’t remember what. What did I win? It doesn’t matter, winning is what matters. Is it a book, or chocolate, or an hour of you critiquing my work? Now, Suze, for your reading habits. How, when, why do you do this? I need to re-read my manuscript to straighten stuff out, and it’s tough. Honestly. Okay, here goes to my recent read. I have dubbed it my cyst bath book. Ready? “Fifty Shades Darker.” The second book in the series. The first was so disturbing, I barely got to the end. Readiness, I was ready this time. A perfect choice right now and it’s a fast read. A Harry Potter book is on my list, “Order of the Phoenix,” upon recommendation of my writing partner, Brenda Lewis. She wants me to see how Rowling develops the characters. She recommended others, classics mostly, but I happen to own that Potter book, and am curious. Now, for that win …

Leave a Reply

