An Audience of One

Hiddey-ho Scribblers!  J Monkeys here.  Has this ever happened to you?  You change “careers” and one of your areas of personal strength becomes a weakness?  Well it happened to me!

Before I became a Stay-at-home Mom, my bosses used to rave about my efficiency.  One guy who was kinda a tough boss even went so far as to let me work part-time because he said I got as much done in 25 hours a week as his other folks did in 40!

give a moose a muffinBut now, 4 years into this new career, I’m so scattered it’s a miracle I remember to wear pants!  (quickly checking to be sure I’m wearing pants – jammies count right?)  Have you seen those funny things going around Facebook – If you give a Mom a Muffin?  Click here.  That’s me!  Hubby laughs that I’m forever being distracted by the sight of something shiny.

Lots of things get started in my life and very few get finished.  It’s awful!  It’s not me.  It’s some kind of horrible, mutant new-me.  I’ve tried all kinds of tips and tricks.  From the Fly Lady’s Control Journal to the Mommy Calendar to using my phone to me to things I have to do.

“That’s all well & terrible, J,” you’re thinking, “but in your – did you forget that this is a blog about writing?”  In the wonderful words of John Pinette, “Nay, nay.”  (Click here and have a 5 minute laugh-break, on me!) Wanna know what has finally helped me?  Writing a book for an audience of one – me.

Last year, I Indie Pub’d a calendar/organizer/budget just for me.  After using all those other systems, I took the best of each and created my own.  I used it all year – kept track of my goals, my meetings and appointments, my household budget, my daily To Do’s.  I LOVED it!  As an added bonus, it only cost $6 (including the shipping!) as compared to the $22 I spent on the last Mommy Calendar style thing I bought.

Now, here it’s March and I haven’t created a new one for this year yet.  Well, I had, but then I got a job which takes up a LOT of my previously free time, so it needed adjusting.  Honestly, I really miss my old book.  I’m excited to tell you that I really focused on that project this week and today, I’ll upload my March 2013 – March 2014 organizer.  Hey – I’m writing it, no reason it has to end in December!  I can’t wait to start using it!

Today’s secret: The Indie Publishing movement isn’t just for bestsellers – you can publish anything!

Today’s question: Have you developed an organizational system that works for you?  Care to share?

4 thoughts on “An Audience of One”

  1. Where can I get a copy of your organizer, J? Is it available for sale on Amazon? I have lots of tricks and tips for staying organized, but they are all over the place, LOL.It would be good to have everything in one spot:-)

    1. I could certainly get you a copy – but you’d probably be better served making your own – that supports your goals and your needs. I’ll send you my template…I agree – having everything in one book is AWESOME!

  2. That first link is all about us women that are/were Domestic Engineers. Today’s super multitasking woman also brings in $$$. Now I know why you asked me how did I manage to give up multitasking? It takes practice. But I am working on consistency, only one job at a time. Believe it or not, it is easier to keep track and stay organized. Not multitasking is not for the meek, or for mother’s. Now to get on to that business of organization. For my appointments and to dos I use my mini 6″ good ‘ol “Day Runner.” I must order the refills online b/c they do not sell the mini’s in the stores. I have been using this method since 1991. For all those extra notes, shopping and epiphany’s, I have a 6″ little spiral notebook. If I don’t write it down, it doesn’t get done, found, or bought. Those two writing conveniences stay on my desk/kitchen counter, and when I go out, they both come with me. At night, yup, you guessed it, I have paper and pencil for those ideas and activities, that come to us all, in the still of the darkness. I have alphabetical files that take all the writings and notes.

    I have a separate drawer for all the new recipes that appear in my daily South Beach online food plan. If I don’t look at the recipes for a year, they get tossed. Oh yes, the most important part, I put away/file everything ASAP. If I don’t keep my surfaces (desk, kitchen counter, coffee table) clean. If too many papers, books, newspapers, magazines have to be read, I make one pile. It fools me in believing that I am organized. Sometimes I am impossibly tired, so I make that pile, and put everything away first thing in the morning. The Nike philosophy works for me. “Just do it!” Hmmm . . . sounds like you have a magic book. Can I please see? There’s always room for improvement.

    1. WOW! You are wicked organized! I hope to be there some day! Surfaces – yeah…major problem area for me. Mine are all covered in whatnot. I do love my magic book. I’ll bring it along next time I’m at CTRWA. Thanks for the tips! 🙂

Leave a Reply

