#1KID is Back to Talk Writing

Hello, friends! I’m #1KID as you may know me from visiting here last year when I told you all what the Top Ten Secrets from a Writer’s Kid were, or maybe you’ve#1kidribbon read my own blog, Road2Gold! Either way, I’m Katy’s kid!

I’m here today to tell you about my latest experience with a book I just read. It’s actually a book I’ve been waiting to read for about six months.  I’m sure many of you can relate to the excitement of when a book is released..

But as I read it, I noticed something different I’d never picked up on before. The author had a thing with “head-hopping”. If you don’t know what head-hopping is, then let me fill you in: Head-hopping is where the Point Of View (Or POV) all of a sudden changes. One paragraph you’re feeling what the heroine is feeling, then bam, we’re in the hero’s head.

Head-hopping is impossible when writing a first-person book, (which is what I write and usually read) but seeing that this book was in third person, I found it happening a lot. Like I said,  I’d never noticed head hopping before, but now it was like reading had an antagonist of its own. It slowed my reading and really jolted me out of the story. Sometimes I had to go back and reread the paragraph.

Can I ask if this is just me, or is there anyone else who experiences this? And why had I never noticed it before?

What especially bothered me was when the author head hopped into the POV of a secondary character. It tripped me up and confused me. Do we need to know what a secondary character is thinking?

I realize I’m a new writer, but if any of you Scriblings can explain why authors head hop, please tell me.

As for me when I write, I put the squiggly in between POVs. ~ Sometimes I put random symbols.( ψ Ω ∞ ♠ ♣ ♥ ♦ ) I don’t plan to be published until I graduate high school, so I can be weird in my books. I write about angels, so a symbol of a pair of wings would be really cool.

My character, Vera North, with her wings
My character, Vera North, with her wings

In the publishing world, what is the customary symbol to use for when an author doesn’t head hop and changes POVs? Thanks for your help and thanks for hanging out with me today.

Thanks Scribes for having me here today. But before I leave, I want to tell you that tomorrow is my first blogiversary! (Yeah, yeah… I made that word up.) I’m soooo excited! I’ll be celebrating in a few days on my own blog, so be sure to join the party!

Later!

#1kid

10 thoughts on “#1KID is Back to Talk Writing”

  1. Hey #1, welcome back. Great post! Head hopping is generally frowned upon, but a few authors do it very well and seem to make it work (Nora Roberts, for one). If the reader is pulled out of the story, though, that means you didn’t do a very good job of making the transition smoothly. I usually write in first person so I don’t have to worry about that, as you said. I think a good writer can show alternate POV’s through actions and dialogue of secondary characters just fine without having to hop all over the place. If you are writing in third person and want or need alternate POV’s (as I did in Savage Cinderella where I wanted H/H/Villain POV to add suspense), you can give the character’s each their own chapters, or make a page break.Page breaks are also used to delineate a change in setting or the passage of time. I use the infinity symbol in my books because I think it’s cool and being an indie-pubbed author, I can still do weird stuff with my books:-)

    1. Hi, PJ! Nora Roberts’s books write themselves… or so it seems. She can kind of earned her freedom. Infinity “∞”s are pretty awesome. Being weird is awesome!!! I didn’t know you could just use a page break to change POVs or scenes… In the current book I’m writing, I use a leaf looking thing to change scenes. Using expressions is pretty difficult, but I don’t want to be considered a lazy writer… Leaves are cool. 🙂

  2. Hello #1 and welcome back. Welcome to the world of a writer. As I read other author’s books I often find I’m asking myself why they wrote a particular sentence the way they did, or I find head-hopping. I think before you know the rules you read along happily, but once you know the rules you can’t help but notice when they are broken. Your inner editor wakes up and takes over. I’m happy to see that this happens to others too. I thought it was just me. 🙂

    1. Hi, Gerri with an I! As much as we want to write the author a note saying: “On page 56 you did this and this and this wrong… and on page(etc)” you get my point. Although my inner editor is pretty easy going… Eh… I still point things out and complain to Momma. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I have been writing mainly first person these days. I do occasionally head hop, but only at section breaks with clear notation about who is telling the next section of the story. Some stories just need a new POV to make them work well. Happy Blogiversary! 🙂

    1. Agreed… I used to write a first person story in three different peoples heads. Each character had a different symbol: The youngest sibling had a flower, the middle child had a target, and the eldest had a an hourglass. I smashed that story and started a much better one. It is in only one character’s head. But I do change scenes with a symbol somewhat often. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  4. Hi #1, I personally like head hopping in a story. I don’t do it when I want to sell something because what the industry says is, “You’re not Nora Roberts, so don’t do it.” With that said, especially in E-books, my publisher uses Asterisk to separate scenes and POV.

    1. Hm… The Asterisk(Literally meaning “Little star” in Greek) is a new idea I haven’t heard of yet. Do you mean like * in the middle of the page, or *** in the middle, or * on the side… it’s interesting. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  5. Hi there #1Kid, so good to meet you, and read about this delicate POV subject. I’m pretty new at this writing stuff, so I am learning about being focused. I think there is great credibility in staying focused, that is, keeping to the character at hand. It seems to avoid confusion to your reader, gives a better flow to the story, and helps me, as a writer to build a character with credibility. I am impressed with your blog. Wishing you a happy blogiversary.

Leave a Reply

