You Can Tune A Piano, But You Can’t Tuna Fish

Hey, Scribelings. Suze here. It’s been a little crazy chez Hardy lately, and I’ve been super busy getting ready for a trip to St. Louis. Yup, I’m going to see the Mississippi for the first time. In fact, next week I’ll be posting from somewhere near the Arch. So stop back and see if, after too many free samples at the Anheuser-Busch brewery, I’ve managed to smuggle an adorable Clydesdale foal–or even better one of those hot St. Louis Cardinal baseball players–into my luggage.

Now that spring is here, my To-Do list and corresponding Honey-Do list have grown. Near the top of that list is “eat healthier and get some exercise.” As writers and readers you know we spend a lot of time with our butts in our chairs (unless you’re one of those coordinated people who can use a cool treadmill desk). So today I thought I’d give you a yummy, no-cook recipe for warm spring and summer days. It’s nice as a lunch on its own or as a side dish with grilled anything. Enjoy while I get back to my packing and planning!

Suze’s Bean and Tuna Salad

  • 3 medium or 2 large stalks celery, washed, dried, and chopped
  • 1 can (15.5 oz) cannellini beans, drained, rinsed, and drained again
  • 1 can (5 oz) water-packed tuna, drained (save the tuna water for the cat!)
  • 1 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon dried dill, or a tablespoon of finely chopped fresh dill
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice, white balsamic vinegar, or apple cider vinegar

Stir celery, beans, and tuna together. In a separate small bowl, mix Old Bay Seasoning, dill and lemon juice or vinegar. While continuing to whisk, drizzle in the olive oil until the dressing emulsifies. Pour dressing over bean mixture and toss gently. Add freshly cracked black pepper to taste. You can add salt if you want to, but I find it usually doesn’t need it. Tastes best at room temperature.

Serve in a hollowed-out ripe tomato, or on  a bed of romaine lettuce. Instead of tuna, you can also use cooked, cubed chicken or cooked, chopped shrimp.

What’s your favorite go-to recipe when time is short and the weather is warm? If you don’t cook, what are you reading now? I’ll need something to take on the plane.

8 thoughts on “You Can Tune A Piano, But You Can’t Tuna Fish”

  1. Yummy, Suze. I’m making that tomorrow! Have fun on your travels and stay safe, girlfriend! I should have Western desert ready for you upon your return.

    1. Yay! Can’t wait! With regard to the salad, if you don’t want to make the dressing, you can substitute a good bottled light colored dressing, such as Newman’s Own Greek. You could use a dark dressing, but it doesn’t look as appetizing.

    1. Joy, most people might expect some onion in this salad, like a finely chopped or thinly sliced red onion. Personally, I don’t care for raw onion so I don’t put it in. And see my comment to Paula about the dressing. I’ve also added drained roasted red peppers, chopped, and it was yummy!

  2. Good luck to your son and the team! And I just finished reading The Gods of Gotham by Lyndsay Faye. Outstanding read!! Great for a fellow history geek – 1845, New York City. The NYC police force has just been formed (the copper stars) and someone is murdering kinchin (have to read the book to find out what that means!).

Leave a Reply

