Be a Superhero…

Hello World!  Vivienne Lynge here.  I was fixing to write my post when something caught my eye.  Author Rebecca Yaros posted a letter to her sons a while back and I just read it.  I loved it so much, that I copied it to MS Word, and saved it on my laptop as a note to my sons.  Of course, I credited her with the writing – but I wholeheartedly agree with every word. 

Mothers: share this with your sons, however old they are.  Teach your boys to be a superhero – protecting anything smaller than they are – and the world will be a better place.  Lilke Ms. Yarros, I will happily bail my sons out of jail for assaulting some dillweed hurting someone else if physical fighting was the only way to protect that person.  I’ll even bake brownies.

Read the letter.  It’s well worth the 10 minutes.  And Ms. Yarros, thank you.

 

2 thoughts on “Be a Superhero…”

  1. This letter was beautiful Viv. She said the boys did not know she wrote the letter. Do you know what she means? Perhaps they are still too young. I just sent the link to my family of men and their wives. I am so proud of the men I raised and proud of the way they have raised theirs. My parents were my mentors in the raising of my children. It is so true, we need to instill kindness every chance we have . . . forever. Thank you.

  2. Incredible, powerful, and moving, This should be printed in high school hallways, college dormitories and boys locker rooms. I remember having the “sex” and “dating” talk with my sons when they were young teenagers and one of the things I told them was that “no matter what a girl says she wants, what she wants the most is to be respected.” I also told them that they were responsible for their bodies, their actions, and the consequences of those actions.

    I cannot begin to fathom all that motivates the cruelty, abuse, and violence against women in our culture, but I pray that more moms are writing letters like this and having those discussions with their sons. Thanks for posting, Viv. Nice to see you made it through your camping excursion last weekend:-)

Leave a Reply

