Making of a Hero Father by Katy Lee

father'sHappy Father’s Day to our daddy followers. This is a day set aside to honor the dads in our lives, but may it also remind you of the important role you have taken on…because it is quite an important role and needs to be taken seriously. So important, you could be dubbed a hero by little girls and boys, alike.

You see, a little girl’s daddy is responsible in showing her how special she is. This critical time will set the stage for how she views every boy for the rest of her life.

So Dads, take every opportunity to treat her the way you would want her future husband to treat her. Take her out on dates. Hold the door for her. Listen to her. Show her that her opinion, thoughts, and feelings are valid and important. And teaching her a few kicks and jabs for those “just in case” moments could be good bonding moments for the two of you, too. So bond away. Teach her not to stand for anything less than you are giving her, and she won’t. Just make sure what you’re giving her is hard to beat.

Now a little boy also takes his cues from Daddy-O. Typically, it’s pretty easy for fathers and sons to bond. A camping trip. A steep mountain to conquer. A few cuts and bruises to reminisce about. But these are not what I’m talking about.

What I’m talking about is training up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it. (Proverbs 22:6)

Dads, it’s your job to shape your boys into the men you would want for your daughters. The types of men who are hard to beat. Men who hold that door and listen to their lady with respect. But the problem is: these behaviors can only be taught through modeling. Your sons will learn best by watching how you treat the most important lady in their life.

Their mom.

The Unlocked Secret: I know Mother’s Day was last month, but a man who honors the woman of his life as though every day is Mother’s Day, is revered and will be lifted up as a hero father. And NOT just on Father’s Day, either. He is a hero to the little girls who learned never to settle for anything less than their daddy gave them, and he is a hero to the little boys who are proud to grow up and be just like their dad. (And p.s. their wives will thank you for it, too)

4 thoughts on “Making of a Hero Father by Katy Lee”

  1. So true, Katy! I wish I’d had a dad like the one you talk about. It might have saved me a lot of heart ache from “looking for love in all the wrong places.” It took me kissing a lot of frogs to find my prince because I thought that “good men” existed only in romance novels and movies. I spent a lot of years figuring out what I DIDN’T want in a relationship to figure out that I deserved more. It wasn’t until I found my guy that I realized real men did open doors for ladies, helped them with their coats, listened, and even cooked and cleaned once in a while. I feel so blessed that my sons had the opportunity to see my husband in action. It warms my heart to see my son open a door for his girl:-)

  2. Katy, what a wonderful post. It is a privilege to have a father as you describe. Thank you for all the beautiful words.

Leave a Reply

