A Rant

When this post goes live I’ll be in Maine on vacation with my college besties. Everybody has that list of things they do before they go on vacation.For most of us it’s making sure we have packed our underwear pajamas and toothbrushes. I do that too. But there is one thing I HAVE to do before I go on vacation and that’s get a pedicure or give myself one.

Why? Because nobody wants to look at nasty feet. I don’t want to look at nasty feet. I don’t want to have nasty looking feet.

I was sitting in the doctor’s office waiting to be seen and I couldn’t help but to notice the woman who was sitting across from me. She was well put together. Cute little polo shirt. Anchor printed crop pants. A Coach handbag that probably costs more than all my handbags put together. Any person who saw her would think she was dressed smartly… if they didn’t look at her feet. Her toe nails were yellow and overgrown her heels were dry and cracked. It all just looked crusty.

That is a pet peeve of mine. A big one. You don’t know how many women I see walking around with gross feet this time of year. If you are going to be showing your feet or toes make sure they look right. It’s just like with any other part of your body. You may think people aren’t looking at your feet but they are. So do the world a favor and keep those things in the best shape possible or keep them covered..

Here’s how

1. Lotion. Lotion. Lotion. Put extra on your feet. I tend to have dry skin so I use TRIPLE LANOLIN ALOE VERA. It does wonders trust me.

2. Trim your toenails. EVENLY. And if you can’t do it have somebody else do it.

3. Nail polish is your friend. I know some people don’t like using it but toes look so much nicer when they are painted a pretty color.It also can hide a multitude of sins.

4. If you are going to go bare then keep your nails in good shape. File them. Buff them. Clean them.

5. Don’t leave your house with dirty feet. I’ve actually seen people with blackened soles. Not cute. NOT CUTE.

6. Get rid of that crusty stuff! It’s okay to splurge on a fancy pedicure the one with the callus remover. Don’t be afraid to ask your nail tech to bring out the heavy machinery. A razor. An industrial sander just something to keep your feet looking smooth and sexy.

I always hear moms say that they are too busy for a pedicure or they don’t have time. BS! Make time. Get a babysitter. Get your husband to watch the kids. Take care of yourself. My mother raised five children. 4 of them crazy boys. Her feet always looked good and yours can too.

Enough of my ranting. What’s a beauty related pet peeve of yours.

6 thoughts on “A Rant”

  1. As a massage therapist, I so appreciate this advice. For all of the potentially “icky” scenarios that can come across my table, dirty, smelly, and unkempt feet are the worst! Can you imagine expecting someone to massage gross, dirty feet? And in the summer, I see it all. Eeek! Let me just say that it’s good that I have a strong constitution. My other pet peeve is greasy hair. Not everyone likes to wash their hair every day, but unless you have some kind of scalp condition, it isn’t that hard to keep yourself clean, people. It’s not like we live in a third world country where water is not accessible, and simply showering daily and taking some pride in your appearance is not that hard. It costs nothing and takes very little time when compared to the benefit of how you feel about yourself and how you interact with others.

  2. Sugar, you are so on target. Feet can get UGLY!!! Tend to your feet. Creaming, cutting, trimming, polishing, all make a difference. I think folks forget about their feet. When those first pair of those summer sandals are slipped on and you look down, OMG, what happened to those feet. Remember, as the song says in Les Mis . . . look down, look down, look down. And don’t forget to see your feet.
    Some song words from Les Mis:
    BEGGARS
    Look down and see the beggars at your feet
    Look down and show some mercy if you can
    Look down and see the sweepings of the street
    Look down, look down,
    Upon your fellow man!

  3. Well this post had me evaluating my own tootsies! I do my own pedis because I’m a little squeamish about other people touching my feet–I am also ticklish. And cheap. I will be giving my feet a nice rub with a heavy duty moisturizer tonight so I don’t need the industrial sander 🙂

    1. I don’t liked to be touched. But I’ve learned to tolerate and even like it because I needs my feets to look good!

Leave a Reply

