Waiting on the Royal Bundle of Joy

Hello my lovelies. Suze here. Welcome, or welcome back!

IMGP0687[1]Unless you’ve been living under a rock or maybe in the beautiful White Mountains of New Hampshire (where I had no cell service this past weekend, but that’s another story–and I’m not holding it against you New Hampshire-ites), you must know that the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge, Kate Middleton and Prince William, are expecting a new little prince or princess any time now.

You may also remember from a prior post that I have a possibly inappropriate little thang for the Dad-to-be, but again, that’s another story (click here). Bald(ing) is beautiful, baby.

I’ll admit to being a royal watcher. I was a kid when Charles married Diana–I’ll never forget watching the royal wedding and marveling at the biggest darn dress I’d ever seen–and the mystique and pageantry fascinated me. I’ve followed their sons (no, not in a creepy stalker way. I don’t live close enough to them to do that!) since they were babies. And of course I watched the wedding of William and commoner Kate. Those two seem to genuinely love each other, so, like any good romance novel junkie, I hope they’ll get their Happily Ever After.

Without further ado, here are my predictions about the Royal BOJ:

slurpeeDance-slurpee[1]Birth date: Today, July 11, 2013. I’m rooting for 7/11 because I want the young prince/princess to be able to get free Slurpees at 7-Eleven on his/her birthday. That will leave more money in the royal budget for fascinators (princess) or ascots (prince).

Weight:     Hmmm, we like the number 7 around here, but Kate and Wills are both tall and I’m going to guess there’s a decent-sized baby in that bump. So I predict 8 pounds, 7 ounces.

Length:    21 inches = three times seven! Coincidence? I think not.

Eye Color: Dark blue, like most all babies.

Hair:   Yes, lots of hair, dark and straight like Kate’s.

Name–Boy: George Albert James. I know James is the current favorite for first name, but I’m going to go with George, the name of Queen Elizabeth’s father. Albert of course was Queen Victoria’s husband. I don’t think we’ll see Charles or Philip in there.

Name–Girl: Alexandra Elizabeth Victoria Diana. This was a tough one. Alexandra is the favorite for first name, and it’s a pretty, traditional yet modern-sounding name so I’m going to go with it. Since this year marks the 60th anniversary of Queen Elizabeth’s coronation, the baby will have almost certainly have Elizabeth as a middle name as a tribute. Victoria because she was the longest reigning British monarch and it’s also quite a pretty (even if Victoria wasn’t, um, too cute). Diana is a no-brainer for a middle name–but too controversial to be a first name.

1223673[1]Sex:  Drum roll, please! Girl. I think we’re having a girl.

All right, everybody. Be bold and give us your predictions. Whoever gets the most right will get a shoutout on next week’s blog!

I

9 thoughts on “Waiting on the Royal Bundle of Joy”

  1. Haven’t been following too closely, but here goes:
    Date: 7/12
    Weight: 7lbs, 7 oz
    Length: 21 in
    Sex: Girl
    Hair: Dark brown like her beautiful mother
    Eyes: Blue, of course, later to turn brown
    Name: Not sure of the full name, but I’m guessing Diana is in there
    My wish for baby and parents: A wonderful healthy, happy, long life filled with much love and lots of laughter – the best gift they could ever give her grandmother. (Yes, I too watched that wonderful wedding all those years ago in awe of that dress.)

  2. My son was 8 lb. 7 oz. so I’m going to wish something a tad smaller for her — say, 7 lb 7 oz. 🙂
    Length: 19 in
    Eye color: blue
    Hair: blonde, like Diana
    Sex: girl
    Due date: I’m going to stretch a little and say July 29, the date Diana and Charles married (first babies are often late, right?)
    Name girl: Elizabeth
    Name boy: George

  3. Girl
    Jul 12
    7 1/2 pounds
    21 inches (in my world all babies are 21 inches)
    name?
    blue eyes and her mom’s hair

    Happy Royal watching!!

  4. Okay Suze, here goes.
    I say a girl, with red hair like her uncle
    dark blue eyes… like all newborn babies… and a gorgeous blue later
    7lbs 6oz
    21″ long
    Alexandra for girl
    George for boy
    Mensa material

  5. There’s a full moon on July 22nd, so I’m going with 7/22, female, 7 lbs, 2 oz., 19 inches long, dark hair, blue eyes. Names I’ll leave up to them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

