Spinning Brain

Hi, y’all!

I’ve been busy. I’ve just finished edits on THROWN FOR A CURVE and HAVE YOURSELF A CURVY LITTLE CHRISTMAS. And I’m hard at work on book three in my Perfect Fit series. Plus I’m working on a new series for Harlequin which I’m really excited about. I’ll share more about that in the next few weeks.

I’m heading to Atlanta in a few short hours for my first RWA conference. And I’m ready. My hair is shiny and bouncy. My feet are pedicured. My fabulous new clothes are all packed. I’m EXCITED, but I’m nervous. This will be my first time flying alone. My first time attending such a huge conference. The first time I’ll meet my editors and the authors that I have admired for so long. It’s also the first time I’ll be signing. I won’t be at the huge signing with all the authors but a smaller one just for  Saint Martin’s Press authors on Saturday afternoon. (Come visit me!!!!) Since my book isn’t out till August 27th, my publisher was kind enough to order fifty ARCs for me to sign.

I'm ready!!!
I’m ready!!!

Then there are the parties! By nature I’m not much of a partier and am kind of shy. So the idea of hanging out in a room filled with hundreds of people I don’t know is a little daunting. But I’m planning on meeting loads of new people and making friends while I’m there.

But all of this has my brain spinning.

So for those of you who have been to RWA nationals before, what advice can you give to a newbie? 

One thought on “Spinning Brain”

  1. If you haven’t already completed an itinerary, go to the RWA website and make out your schedule. They have a nifty new feature that allows you to pick all your workshops and print out a little schedule to keep in your badge holder. It’s easy to get overwhelmed with all the activities and workshops, but if you have a general idea ahead of time, it is infinitely less daunting. Other than that, relax! You are going to have a great time and everyone you meet will be friendly and helpful. You’re lucky to have so many fellow CTRWA members to hang with and depend on for help and support. I didn’t know anyone my first time and I wandered around a lot, LOL. Bottom line is that you can’t do it all, so don’t even try:-) Enjoy yourself and try to carve out a little alone time. It helps keep your sanity. See you there!

Leave a Reply

