What’s in your TBR Pile?

Happy Friday everyone. Casey here.

IMG_2161A quick post today, since I am on vacation this week. And because I’m on vacation, I have a giant TBR (to be read) list. Oh, don’t worry, I’m still writing two books at once. Although it looks like Mystic Hero is winning the word count war.

I mentioned last week that I troll the Kindle Daily Deal everyday, so most of these books are on my Kindle purchased as a result of said “deal”. Here’s what I have on my plate (which is a slim fraction of the TBR pile):

1. The People Who Eat Darkness: The True Story of a Young Woman who Vanished from the Streets of Tokyo – And the Evil that Swallowed Her Up by Richard Lloyd Parky – non-fiction, true crime

2. Little Blog on the Prairie by Cathleen Davitt Bell- YA/Middle Grade

3. Money Shot by Christa Faust – Crime NoirIMG_1352

4. A Bad Day for Voodoo by Jeff Strand – YA

5. Nightwings by Robert Silverberg – Science Fiction

And finally, earlier in the week I read The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (and in case you missed it, Galbraith was outed as JK Rowling). I read my local library’s copy because there is no way I’m spending $9.99 on a digital book. I really enjoyed it. The story sucked me in and I finished in about two days.

So you may (or may not) be asking yourself, with a week of vacation and nothing to do – why are you reading at all? Surely, the time could be better spent just writing. Well, I have been writing (I average about 3,000 words in about 2 – 3 hours).

I also believe, that to be a better writer and storyteller, I have to keep reading. Otherwise, life is no fun for me and my writing actually comes easier if I don’t spend all my time stressing about it.

What about you? What’s in your TBR pile? And if you’re a writer, do you find reading helps with the writing process?

8 thoughts on “What’s in your TBR Pile?”

  1. You wrote this just for me, Casey! I have been itching for a good book and tons on my Kindle waiting for me–so many that I can’t decide where to start. I know I’m a better writer when I’m reading great books and that I need to shift away from the business end of writing and dive into my next book, but I’m struggling just to get organized enough to take a break! And your word count is impressive my dear!! I’m a slow poke in the typing department and I have to be on a roll to get 3,000 words out in a few hours. I also admire your two books at one time goal. That is awesome, sister! That would solve a big dilemma for me right now and i will definitely consider giving it a try. Thanks for the inspiration. I will start a new book today–both reading and writing one:-)

    1. I’ve been kind of laid back this week, so my word count (and two books at once) productivity has slowed to nothing. But, I’ve had a bunch of fun with the boys and read a few books, so I feel energized now and ready to dive back in.

      I used to feel like I shouldn’t take the “luxury” of time to read, however, I think it’s essential to a writer’s well being to enjoy the written word. Even if I only read for a half hour before bed (and I never read in my own genre when writing), it’s often enough to get the mental ball rolling. Something I didn’t mention in my post is that I also have a huge book of artwork. I stare at paintings too. I find it helps move my brain into the right place to write.

  2. I added a couple of books from your list to my humongous TBR list. I have 20 books to review and at least 45 other books on my current TBR list. I love to read and can’t seem to stop adding to my list. There are so many interesting books out there.

  3. Did you see the quote from Stephen King on The Passive Voice today? If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that. I’m reading two books right now: Aunt Dimity and the Duke, and an ARC of a certain Scribe’s debut book. I usually don’t read in my genre while I’m in writer mode, but the Aunt Dimity series I’ve just discovered (though it’s been around for ages) is enough different from what I write that I don’t feel overly influenced by it. Enjoy your vacay!

    1. I am just reading Passive Voice now! Here’s the quote from The Passive Voice (which I encourage everyone to subscribe to)

      If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.
      Stephen King

      I also like this quote too (also from PV) – There’s no such thing as writer’s block. That was invented by people in California who couldn’t write.
      Terry Pratchett

      And yes, I can’t wait to read sweet Sugar’s book. I have it all pre-ordered from Amazon.

  4. Casey, I am still trying to catch up on reading any fiction. I fell in love with Ayn Rand, and now F. Scott Fitzgerald, along with our Kristan’s “Until There Was You” again… recommendation by Michael Hauge. All this does help the writing. I do read our CTRWA authors. Right along with those classics. Big job, but fun.

Leave a Reply

