The Farm by Emily McKay

Hello Cyber Peeps!  Vivienne Lynge back from Cool-anta.  It used to be Hot-lanta but since it was easily 15 degrees cooler (heat index-wise) than home sweet home, I’ve changed the name.  Not sure it will catch on.

Anywho – I learned SO much at RWA Nationals.  I can’t wait to tell you all about it.  But up first, I want to tell you about the most awesome, can’t-wait-for-the-sequel book I’ve read in a long time.  Yes, I got it at the RWA Conference.  By the way, those folks who say you can bring home as many free books as you want from the national conference aren’t kidding around.  I picked up 86 book myself.  Freebies.  I couldn’t help it!  It’s the trifecta of books: Romance, Free and Signed!  That doesn’t include the dozens of free digital books either – I haven’t counted those.  And I left about 200 on the tables.  Craziness.  Or heaven.  Either way…

the farmBut to The Farm.  Let me tell you how I “discovered” this book.  One of the many awesome workshops I attended at the conference was entitled something like “What to do when there’s peanut butter on your keyboard”.  It was a session on balancing a writer’s work life and all the other gazillion responsibilities we have.  We’ve talked about wearing many hats a bunch of times here.  This was a great workshop where a panel of ladies talked about how they juggle responsibilities and the main message I got from them was this: “If you want writing to be a career, then treat it like one. Do the work.  Find the time.”

Of course I’ve heard this before, but it was just one of many important messages that I heard over and over last week.  It really all came together for me.

So Emily McKay was one of the ladies on the panel and one of the many pieces of swag being given away was a Vampire Apocalypse Survival Kit.  This kit had many important things in it – golf pencils (aka tiny stakes), a preloaded tooth brush for trading, band aids – you want to staunch any bleeding immediately to minimize the smell, gum and various other things mentioned in passing in the book.  It also had a postcard with the book cover and blurb.  I was so intrigued, that I almost downloaded the book onto my Kindle immediately.

But since I had already gotten an armload of free books by that point, I decided to see if I could get this one for free, too.  The next morning, I checked the goody room to see if there was any info on who published the book.  No dice.  I checked the bookstore (there was one set up just for us!) and saw that it was published by Berkley.  I went to the Berkley signing a few hours later and stalked…er…I mean found…Ms. McKay pretty quickly.  I mentioned the panel from the earlier day, she signed my book and I promised to get started reading right away – well when I got back to my hotel at the end of the day.  She said, “Great.  If you like it, you can cheer for me at the RITAs!”

I cheered, people.  Oh how I cheered!  And she won!  Not only that, but afteme and emily mckay with her ritar the ceremony, while I waited with a bunch of fellow CTRWA-ers, Ms. Emily McKay happened to walk out the door.  She stopped just behind me to talk with some folks she knew, and I leaned toward her giant golden statue, gesturing to my friends that this could be the closest I’d ever get to a RITA.  Would you believe that Emily turned around and saw me, then asked if I wanted to hold it?!  She did.  Here’s the picky to prove it!  

Now that you’re ready to buy the book (and you should – it’s awesome!) here’s a wicked brief teaser.  The Farm is a RITA Award winning YA fantasy set in a post-apocalypse world where vampires aren’t the scariest thing out there.  This isn’t your older sister’s vampire story.  There’s plenty of time to catch up before The Lair comes out in November, and The Before (a prequel) in December. 

What have you read lately that rocked your world?

6 thoughts on “The Farm by Emily McKay”

  1. This looks like a winner, Viv. I’ll definitely check it out. And yes, Ms. Mckay was lovely and sweet. And isn’t it a thrill to hold that RITA? I was surprised at how heavy she was. But boy she’s pretty and she’d make a perfect book end if you had two–like some other fab author we know:-) Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. Imagine winning the golden? Is that all writer’s aim? Tell ya though, just to get this thing written is quite an accomplishment. You want to know what book rocked my world? The answer will always be “Gone With the Wind.” But Ayn Rand, and F. Scott Fitzgerald’s writings hold second place.

Leave a Reply

