So Bad It’s Good

Hi, all. Suze here. It’s great to have you with us!

Over the weekend I watched a movie. Big deal, Suze, you’re probably thinking. Everybody watches movies on the weekends. (Well, they might not if they’re in full writer mode, but you know what I mean)

MV5BOTE2OTk4MTQzNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODUxOTM3OQ@@._V1_SY317_CR6,0,214,317_[1]But what if I say the word … Sharknado (Sharknado, Sharknado, Sharknado, echoing off into the distance)

Yes, Sharknado. The SyFy channel original movie that was so well received on its first showing that it’s now been aired several times since, and even got a mention on The Today Show. But its popularity isn’t due to its poignant dialogue, fast-paced action, all-star cast, gorgeous cinematography, or compelling message.

It’s popular because it’s so darned stupid.

But Suze, you admonish. It’s not nice to call people–or movies–stupid. But I mean stupid in the most complimentary way. ‘Cuz this movie is brilliant in its suckiness. A tornado rips across the ocean, sucking up Great Whites, hammerheads, and other shark species, then releases the chomping creatures where they eat their way (airborne, on land, on a boat, and back in the sea) through a large–and bloody–cast of actors. There are homemade bombs, a possibly tragic love story (no spoilers here!), conveniently placed chainsaws, and the destined-to-be-classic line: We’re going to need a bigger chopper. On August 2, you can actually watch Sharknado in the movie theater (check here for a location near you). Or you can stay home on Saturday night and watch it on SyFy.

And while you’re waiting for the sequel (yes, it appears there will be one), you can always watch Ghost Shark on August 22. (Click here for details). You know you want to.

I love the crazy, the ridiculous, the stuff that makes you roll your eyes, groan, and spit out your wine you’re laughing so hard. The Jerry Springer Show. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. The Bulwer-Lytton entries/awards. Bubba Ho-Tep. Here Comes Honey Boo-Boo. The Three Stooges. Weird Al. I watch/read/listen to this stuff and I instantly feel better about whatever’s going on in my life.

Low-brow? Sure. Slapstick? Yes. But laughter is the best medicine, baby.

What about you? Have you seen Sharknado? Want to see it? What are your favorite ridiculous-but-wonderful books, shows, movies, and music? The Scribes are a Judgment-Free Zone, so you can admit it here. Edited to add: Let’s have a party! Stop by the Scribes Facebook page at 9:00 on Saturday, August 3, for a Sharknado Watch Party. Edited to add: Let’s have a party! Stop by the Scribes Facebook page at 9:00 on Saturday, August 3, for a Sharknado Watch Party. Bring your snark. Or your snack. Whichever you prefer.  https://www.facebook.com/secretsof7scribes Invite your friends!

12 thoughts on “So Bad It’s Good”

  1. I confess, I watched the rerun of Sharknado after hearing how bad it was. And I wasn’t disappointed. I like to keep a thumb on the pulse of American pop culture.

  2. I LOVE SHARKNADO! (Yes, I just yelled that).

    I love bad TV and terrible movies. It started with Frankenhooker when I was in high school. That was a tour de force, if ever there was one. And Jerry Springer had this show called Baggage that was so terrible it was awesome.I laughed so hard I cried.

  3. I can’t say I enjoy terrible TV, movies, or books. Call me a stick-in-the-mud, but there are way too many awesome choices in entertainment for me to spend time watching crap. I also hate movies that malign the good name of sharks and make me afraid to swim in the ocean. Never got past the first scene in Jaws. Call me chicken:-)

Leave a Reply

