Fun With Ground Beef

TGIF!! Casey here.

IMG_3320Today, I’m poking my head out of the writer’s cave to share a quick, easy recipe that I call Casey’s Taco Beef Melt. This is one of those recipes that I just threw together using things I had already had on hand and, added bonus, it cooks quickly without heating up the house too much.

Feel free to substitute chicken (or other meat) for the ground beef or use only beans, or use tortilla chips instead of Doritos. Also, this can be used as topping on a salad or rolled into a soft tortilla.

Ingredients:

  • 1 – 2 lbs ground beef (I used two because I have hungry men to feed)
  • 1 can black beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 – 2 packages low sodium taco seasoning (if you use 1 pound of beef, use 1 package)
  • Water – according to seasoning packages.
  • Doritos (about 1/3 of an 11 ounce bag)
  • 1- 2 cups shredded  cheddar cheese of your choice

1. In a skillet, brown beef (or meat of your choice). Drain excess fat once browned.

2. Add beans, then taco seasoning and water.

IMG_3321

3. Once the seasoning is thickened, crush up chips and place over top until covered.

IMG_3322

4. Sprinkle shredded cheese over the tops of the chips. Cover with lid until chees melts.

IMG_3323

Enjoy!IMG_3325

Please share your favorite “go to” summer foods!

8 thoughts on “Fun With Ground Beef”

  1. Casey, how could you? And you left off carbs and fats, I can’t make it unless I have the count. Noooooo, it looks too good. I’ll have to print and save for when I have left over carbs and fats. Happy writing… and cooking, looks like you have the knowhow. Yup, one word, it should be one word.

    1. This is definitely not a recipe for people concerned about carbs and fat. But you can modify it to use ingredients like black beans or low fat tortillas. Everything in moderation, right?

  2. OMG That looks awesome…and deadly. I’m trying to figure out how to make it “Jillian approved”. Perhaps ground turkey, baked Tostitos, and low fat cheddar cheese…hmmm. I think I can make it work. I’ll let you know how it goes. And yes, the margaritas are a must! Sounds like a Scribes party is in order, ladies!

Leave a Reply

