Writing Quirks

Happy Wednesday Everyone!!

Jen here, talking about writing quirks.  You know what I mean? Those unconscious things you do in your writing without thinking about them.  In addition to the contemporary romance series I recently turned into my agent, I’ve been working on some proposals for future books.  

In writing the proposals, I noticed something odd.  In almost every book, there’s a character who’s first and last name start with the same letter.  For example, my hero’s name in the first book is Matt Mitchell.  The heroine’s name for a proposal I wrote was Josely Jones.  I have characters named Carly Caron…and the list goes on.

So, where did it come from?  Generally my characters names don’t *mean* anything. Believe me, I’m not that smart.  My brain struggles for a name and blah, there it is. I spent the weekend thinking about this oddity, and then, watching cartoons with my son it hit me.

Stan Lee.  I name characters because of my love for all things Stan Lee. (Peter Parker =Spiderman, Bruce Banner = the incredible HULK, Sue Storm = the invisible woman)

Here’s a list of what I mean, http://www.comicvine.com/profile/zapa/lists/raj-koothrappalis-list-about-stan-lees-characters-/33219

Stan Lee created character names that rolled off the tongue, and I liked that most about his hero’s. Easy to say. Easy to remember.  So, tell me Scribblers, what are your writing quirks?  Have you identified any?  If so, have you thought about why it is that you do what you do?

Inquiring minds want to know!

2 thoughts on “Writing Quirks”

  1. Hilarious, Jennifer. In my first draft of WANING MOON, my editor pointed out that all of my character’s names were either Scottish or Irish. She asked me if I recognized that or if in the future the only survivors of the apocalypse were going to be Irish and Scots? I, too, have the habit of creating characters with the same first and last initial. These days I think very carefully about character names and try to make them easy to remember, easy to say, and fitting of the personal characteristic of the character.

    In terms of writing quirks, it seems to change from book to book. The one common thread seems to be all that smiling my characters do.

Leave a Reply

