The Weekend is Mine!

Yay Friday! Casey here, hoping your week went well.

IMG_3491
Labor day trip to Kringle Candle, Bernardston, MA

Recently, I had an attitude adjustment. Every blog about writing or by writers, eventually, touches on the topic of professionalism and treating writing as a job.

I am not going to dispute that wisdom. If you’re in it for the long haul and you want to be published (or stay published), then you have to realize that writing isn’t sitting around waiting to be struck by genius. There comes a time in every writer’s day, month, year (take your pick) when you have to do the deed. You know, sit at your computer and write stuff – whether you feel like it or not.

IMG_3543
Someday owls will rule the world!

Kind of like being an employee at a day job. I have a full time job. I also consider writing a job and when I am actively working on a story, I do it after the paid job.

Which brings me to the attitude adjustment. For the last few weeks, I’ve written my 2,000 – 3,000 words a day from Monday – Friday (after my day job ends) and I’ve taken the weekends off!

And by off, I mean, I don’t even turn my laptop on. For the last several years, my trusty laptop has been on 364 days of the year. The only day it got off was Christmas day because family comes over.

So far, it’s been therapeutic. I don’t feel all – “Ugh, I have to write today.” I admit, I’ve been getting a little grouchy about writing. Like it was a ball and chain. Until I realized that even with my day job, I take time off and I sure don’t feel guilty about it. Why should writing be different than any other profession?

Who wouldn't want to pet this cute cat??
Who wouldn’t want to pet this cute cat??

That doesn’t mean I won’t write on the weekend. I will. But it’s also nice to know that I don’t have to feel guilty for taking a day trip with my family or grocery shopping so we can eat all week. Or read a book. Or just veg and pet my cat.

BTW- Mystic Hero is over the 55,000 words mark, well on it’s way to first draft completion in the next week or two. Yay!

See? It’s all about attitude. If you find yourself in a rut or so stressed out you can’t think straight it might be time for an adjustment!

Anyone else feel the need to take time away? How do you veg?

11 thoughts on “The Weekend is Mine!”

  1. I’m totally with you on this, Casey! I’ve done the same thing. Basically, jumped off the hampster wheel. I’ve done nearly zero promotion the past few months (unfortunately, sales reflect this), but I’m not stressed about getting more done every day. I too, have a day job, and a life outside of my writing. I’m writing when I can, taking time out to be with family and friends, and giving myself guilt-free days off. Perks of being the boss. The trick is buckling down to get the job done to meet those pesky deadlines:-)

    Congrats on taking control!

  2. I just took the leap into writing full-time without the safety net of a day job. It’s taken me years to be able to look at writing as a career/job and not just a hobby that conveniently brings in money (my hubby, bless him, has been trying for years to get me to that point, and me quitting the day job to focus on writing was his idea). I have a set Monday-Friday schedule that includes a few hours of downtime: exercise, watching TV, reading, whatever strikes my fancy. Even though writing is now my job, even on work days I need to take a break from whatever I’m working on to reset my brain. Plus it’s a lot easier to catch up on TV shows when the kids are in school…

    On weekends, I can *choose* to write if I feel like I’m behind on a project, but I don’t *have* to, and if I choose to, I don’t set a word count goal. I just write until I decide I’ve done enough.

  3. Casey, It is great to claim the weekend. You are definitely entitled to whatever you want, if not on Saturday, certainly on Sunday. Don’t you just love Paula jumping off her hamster wheel? I am doing that right now, not Paula’s, but mine, if that’s okay. Weekends are lovely, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

