Fall in New England by Vivienne Lynge

Hello there Scribblers!  Vivienne Lynge here.  Fall is easing its way into my life here in New England.  The nights are perfect for the down duvet with the window open, the days are warm by not hot.  Ahhh, perfection.  Today looks to be another bright, blue, beautiful day. 

Every year, around this time, I take a few moments to check in with my goals for the year.  What were they?  How am I doing?  Will I meet any of them?!  What do I need to do to be able to cross a few things off my list on December 31?  Let’s take a little look see, shall we?

Health: I’m down about 10 pounds from January 1.  I want that to be a bigger loss, so I need to focus a bit of attention there.  I’ve nailed down the kidney stone problem, and after last week’s surgery, hopefully eradicated the source of monthly agony. 

Household: This year I wanted to resolve a shed situation in the yard – we’ve just scheduled a landscaper to come and do this work for us next month.  We wanted to shuffle some rooms around and install the wood stove living in our garage in the new playroom.  We’re making progress there too, slowly, but it will be done before Thanksgiving.  It kinda has to be…the contractor is coming to install the stove.  Incidentally, finding a contractor to install a wood stove is not easy…there just aren’t very many of them.

Finances: I got a job!  One that pays me somewhat regularly.  Exciting times.  Things are looking up there.

Writing: Yeah – this is an area where I’ve not succeeded yet.  I’ve still got time to finish the first draft of Sometimes before the year is over.  Of course, I’ll be working hard at it during November.  Yay NaNoWriMo!

Work-Life Balance: I still struggle with this, as do so many people.  I developed a new daily schedule to help with balance, I just haven’t managed to stick to it more than a day or two since school started earlier this month.  But the good thing is that every day is a new day and I can try again to achieve balance.

Today’s Secret: It’s never too late to work toward your dreams…everyday you can start anew.

Today’s Question: Do you like to take a moment during the year and pause to see how you are doing in the larger scheme of things?  How are you doing?

2 thoughts on “Fall in New England by Vivienne Lynge”

  1. Grreat job, Viv! You have to celebrate every inch of meeting those goals. It’s not easy to achieve personal goals when you have so many other responsibilities and people to consider. I do find checking in with goals quarterly to be a helpful practice in keeping on track. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

