Yum, Yum. Plum, Plum!

Happy Friday. Casey here with a delicious plum torte recipe that I’m shamelessly IMG_3600borrowing from my friend and passing it along to all of you.

If you don’t like plums, no worries. The recipe works just as well with other fruit like cherries, peaches, pears or apples.  And it freezes too.

Enjoy!

The notes in ( ) are mine.

B-girl’s Plum Torte

You’ll need:

1 cup sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter (and do use unsalted butter. It’s not as good with salted butter)
1 cup unbleached flour (I used regular all purpose flour and it came out fine)
1 teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt
2 eggs
24 halves pitted purple or prune plums (see note above – other fruit works too)
Topping: sugar, lemon juice, cinnamon
9 inch springform pan

Cook Time: 1 Hour
350 Degree Oven
Yield: 8 servings

Ingredients Assemble!

1. Cream the sugar and butter. Add flour, baking powder, salt and eggs. Beat well.

IMG_3591

2. Spoon the batter into the springform pan (I have used cooking spray or Cricso on the bottom to keep it from sticking).

IMG_3592

3. Place the plums skin side up on top of the batter. Sprinkle lightly with with sugar and lemon juice. Sprinkle about a teaspoon of cinnamon or however much you like.

We interrupt this recipe for cat cuteness!
We interrupt this recipe for cat cuteness!

5. To serve frozen torte, defrost and reheat briefly at 300 degrees.

IMG_3593

And there you have it! Who else enjoys fall baking?

5 thoughts on “Yum, Yum. Plum, Plum!”

  1. That’s an interesting way to get your fruit in. Looks like the plumbs are whole, are they? For me, I have discovered the most amazing fruit. It grows on a Kousa Dogwood tree in my yard. It is loaded with these gorgeous red fruit, about the size of a kumquat. My landscaper said they are edible. WHAT? I have a fruit tree in my yard and you can eat the fruit. I used to live on an apple orchard, and fruit trees were furthest from my brain. They are dirty, messy things and a whole lot of work. Well, we got sucked in and I am making jam with the darn things, and it’s delicious. Thing is I never made jam in my life, so here’s another learning curve I don’t have time for. The only ingredient you need with the fruit is sugar, about one to one. As the fruit gets riper, you need less sugar. But the sugar helps to extract the juice from the fruit. I also tried using pectin and didn’t like the texture. without pectin the fruit jam is a little runny, but it is smooth and delicious. I am trying to use artificial sweetener, but it didn’t work. I have a syrup from Cracker Barrel that has no sugar and used that. Now I have fruit juice that I can actually drink if I want. I prefer no sugar. Thanks for the recipe.

    1. A nice no-calorie sugar substitute is a product called xylo-sweet, made from fruit and vegetable fibers, so it’s not a synthetic sweetener (which most of your artificial sweeteners are). You can get it at the health food store or Whole Foods stores. It is also recommended by dentists as being good for your teeth! it is granular like sugar and I believe works well in baking.

  2. Love this recipe, Casey. Looks and sounds yummy indeed. I enjoy baking in the fall too. Something about apple season and the coming of winter that makes me want the smell of baked goods to permeate my house:-)

Leave a Reply

