Whatcha Gonna Do When They Come For You?

Hi, all, Suze here. I took a sickie last week, but I’m ba-a-a-ck.

As you probably know by now, I write crime fiction. A wonderful opportunity presented itself a few weeks ago–the chance to attend the West Hartford, Connecticut Citizen’s Police Academy. This is a free community outreach program sponsored by many police departments allowing citizens to learn more about the structure, function, and procedures of local law enforcement. I’m so glad I signed up along with sister authors Katy Lee, Summer Devon, and another CTRWA chaptermate (who didn’t actually give me permission to use her name yet–maybe next week). I’m learning so much!

So, here are some photos from my time so far at the Academy:

SWAT/Emergency Response Team Vest
SWAT/Emergency Response Team Vest

This thing is heavy! Like 30 pounds are so, and that’s not fully loaded with gear. Even though they showed us a lot of super cool gadgets and toys that could go into those pockets, we weren’t allowed to see everything (pout!). For good reason, obviously. I’ve always suspected a lot of criminals read this blog.

Suze! (labored breathing) I am your Sister Scribe, Katy Lee.
Suze! (labored breathing) I am your Sister Scribe, Katy Lee.

 

 

Notice my awesome photo-editing skills in this and the prior picture.

SAMSUNG

Katy Lee and me. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.? We’re not allowed to tell! But seriously. We could kick some butt if we had that thing to hide behind.

Our Police Academy bestie, the wonderful Officer Grant, with Suze and Katy.
Our Police Academy bestie, the wonderful Officer Grant, with Suze and Katy.

Now we’ve got someone to call when we get arrested for stalking Joe Manganiello and other celebrities.

I’ll give you more details over the next few weeks. Coming up: the K-9 Unit!

 

7 thoughts on “Whatcha Gonna Do When They Come For You?”

  1. The things we have to do to be a writer. Pretty amazing, aren’t they. But, don’t you love the opportunities to see another side of life? What fabulous photos. You guys are all set for the next detective series. Thanks for an informative post.

  2. That does seem like a really cool thing to do. My father was NYPD for twenty years but I really have no idea what he actually did day to day.

  3. I left a comment Suze, but don’t know where it went. This looks like a ton of fun. My question for the officers in the K-9 unit is if they have to carry an official pooper scooper on their gun belt. I dare you to ask, LOL.

Leave a Reply

