8 Steps After THE END by Marisa Cleveland

Hi Scribblers:

I’m pleased to have my one of my new friends on the blog today.  She lived in Southwest Florida with me and we try to get together often to feed our love of books, writing, and Panera Bread.  Her newest book has been released by Entangled Publishing, LLC and I couldn’t be happier for her.  Please welcome, Marisa Cleveland!!!!!

Thanks,  Jennifer, so much for welcoming me to your blog! It’s so exciting to visit other blogs and chat with other writers and meet readers.

Today, I’m going to skim over what happens for me after THE END, and yes, I really do type THE END at the end of my first draft. There’s something so satisfying about completing a novel, especially since, for many years, I simply started them and never finished them. Now, each time I complete a project, I still feel that moment of awe at having completed it, and maybe that’s why I type THE END.

But we all know it’s not the end. It’s never the end. Because hopefully, that project will continue to morph into a book that lands in the world and stays there until the end of reading itself.

Okay, so back to my 8 steps after THE END.

1. Congratulate myself for surviving another emotional rollercoaster. Writing a romance novel is not for the faint of heart, and after I’ve torn my heroine from my hero’s arms, mended their misunderstandings, excited them over and over and … yeah, it’s time for a drink. Water, if I’m dehydrated, but usually champagne and cupcakes.

2. Read someone else’s book, watch a movie, organize my closet. Anything else to forget what I’ve just created. This helps distance myself so when I dive back into the mess, I have a fresh perspective.

3. Stretch. I say this all the time, but it’s because stretching is so important. I live and breathe by splits and bridges.

4. Revise. I step away from the manuscript, listen to some music, watch a t.v. show, and then revise again.

5. Send to my critique partner.

6. Review her comments. Make my revisions.

7. Edit.

8. Celebrate!

Oh yeah, and create my blurb, if I still need one. Write my synopsis, or tweak if it’s changed since I first wrote it. But I don’t forget to celebrate!

So what about you? What do you do after THE END?

cover reforming the cowboy

 

Bio: Marisa Cleveland loves to laugh, hates to cry, and does both often. As a writer, she writes. Every day. If she couldn’t express herself through writing, music, and dance, she would die. Perhaps because she married her best friend, her adult romance novels focus on playfully naughty relationships developed through friendship and family-oriented values. She believes romance novels are the perfect “how to” books, because no matter the obstacles, the characters keep working toward their happily ever after. She loves to connect with writers and readers through social media. Visit her website (www.marisacleveland.com) to find her online.

Book Blurb:

Country singer Billy Hardy needs to get back on the charts. His manager assures him headlining the opening of a cafe in South Beach is his best chance at getting back to the big time. If he fails, his career is over for good this time.

 

Lacey Durant can’t believe opening night includes the country singer she crushed on through college. And her customers agree he’s dreamy. But his playboy reputation threatens her cafe’s image and she can’t afford that. She insists Billy stay with her so she can keep an eye on him, and thwart overenthusiastic fans.

 

Billy’s charms and Lacey’s sexy curves prove more than either can resist, but she refuses to be just another lyric in his well-known songs of heartbreak.

 

Snippet:

Lacey stared at the stage with the single spotlight on the lone man. He hitched the guitar strap over his broad shoulder and slunk down onto the bar stool. One hand glided over the strings, the length of his fingers catching her attention, and a tingling hit her in the stomach. He cleared his throat.

And then her knees went weak as his deep baritone danced through the speakers.

“Good evening.” Applause followed by cat-whistles. “It’s great to be in South Beach with you tonight.”

Social Media:

Website – http://www.marisacleveland.com

 

Twitter – http://twitter.com/marisacleveland

 

Facebook – http://facebook.com/marisacleveland00

 

Google Plus – http://plus.google.com/102206201174009013772

 

Pinterest – http://pinterest.com/marisacleveland

 

Tumblr – http://marisacleveland.tumblr.com

 

Goodreads – http://goodreads.com/marisacleveland

 

 

Grab your copy of Reforming the Cowboy here:

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Reforming-Cowboy-Entangled-Indulgence-ebook/dp/B00DPSH0XE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1376136894&sr=8-1&keywords=reforming+the+cowboy

 

Barnes and Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/reforming-the-cowboy-marisa-cleveland/1115885200?ean=9781622661732

 

iTunes:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/reforming-cowboy-south-beach/id668469338?mt=11&uo=4

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “8 Steps After THE END by Marisa Cleveland”

  1. My process is pretty much the same, Marissa. I, too, write THE END at the completion of my first draft. I’m only a few chapters away from experiencing that magical moment again with my current WIP, PIECES OF LOVE. Finishing a first draft is one of the most exciting milestones a writer can experience…and I definitely take a moment to celebrate! Congrats on another fine novel!

  2. HI PJ – I love to write THE END, even though I know it’s not really the end. 🙂 Thanks so much!

    Jennifer! Thanks so much for letting me stop by! 😀

Leave a Reply

