Balance During NaNoWriMo by J Monkeys

Hiddey Ho all!  J Monkeys here.  As you know I’m scribbling away this month with my 6th year of NaNoWrimo.  But as important as focus and forward movement are to me during the month of November, it’s equally important to remember that I have other responsibilities that I can’t ignore. 

Yes the dishes can pile up and I can order pizza for dinner again.  But the house has to be tidy for the dozen people arriving for Thanksgiving and I’m gonna have to feed them something.  A trip to Santasland on November 30 is more important than spending that last day banging out words.  And Parent/Teacher conferences are coming.  And I have a job that pays for important things like gas and groceries.

So, for all of you out there saying I can’t do it!  I can’t write a novel in November with all the other things I have to do – I’m here to say maybe that’s true.  Maybe you can’t write an entire novel.  But you can write a big chunk of one. 

I am absolutely shooting for 50,000 words this month.  But here’s a secret.  If I only hit 35,000 it’s still a success.  I’m 35,000 words further along than I would be if I hadn’t attempted to hit 50k.

Now I’m going back to writing…

 

One thought on “Balance During NaNoWriMo by J Monkeys”

  1. I’m with you, J. i always shoot for the 50k for NaNo, but even half a novel in a month is fantastic results. Enjoy your holiday and your trip with the kids. I think one of the things that makes NaNo so successful is that it forces us to turn off the editor and write as much as we can as fast as we can. It’s a great exercise for those of us who like to loop back and fix everything which slows the process considerably (even if it does save time on the back end with editing). Best of luck with growing your word count…and your kids!

Leave a Reply

