Whatcha Reading?

Hey, Scribesters! Suze here, coming to you from deep in the cave (the writer’s cave and its next-door neighbor, the editor’s cave).

Whatcha reading these days? Me, I’ve got a couple of books going.

Doctor_Sleep[1]Stephen King’s Doctor Sleep. Ever wonder what happened to Danny Torrance, the little Red-rum kid from The Shining? Well, he’s ba-a-a-ack! (I know, I’m mixing movies here) And honestly things are not so great for him. This is classic Stephen King–beautiful writing about horrifying stuff. I don’t want to put this down. I wish I had a couple days of uninterrupted reading time, but, like a fine wine, I need to sip, not guzzle this book. So far, I adore it!

9780062192356_p0_v1_s260x420[1]I’m also reading a YA book, Slither, Book 11 in The Last Apprentice series by Joseph Delaney. This is scary stuff! Think Grimm’s fairy tales with every myth and monster you can think of (and some new ones too) putting our hero, Tom Ward, and the rest of the world into ever-increasing danger. While the prose reads like a middle grade book, in my opinion these stories are not for anyone younger than 6th grade. And the illustrations are gorgeous–done in the style of old woodcut drawings. There’s one more book in the series coming out next year, and while I can’t wait to see if Tom defeats The Fiend once and for all and if Alice can save herself, I’ll be sad to see this series end.

How about you? Are you on a horror kick like I am? What are you reading these days?  

4 thoughts on “Whatcha Reading?”

  1. I’m slowly working my way through my CTRWA TBR pile! I just finshed WARNING SIGNS by Katy Lee. I’ll be posting my review to Amazon, BN, and Goodreads this morning. And I just started Kristan Higgins’ latest, The Perfect Match (her books almost always go to the top of the pile ’cause i know I’m going to get a good laugh and a sweet love story). I still haven’t read Sugar’s book DANGEROUS CURVES AHEAD or Jesse Hayworth’s MUSTANG RIDGE which I believe just got nominated for the RT Best Romances of the Year list.

    Like you, I read in small doses because I just don’t have the time to sit down and gobble up a good book these days. It takes me weeks to read a whole book! I’ve just finished the first draft of PIECES OF LOVE and am doing my first read through. Once it’s off to editors, I need to dive right into the third book in the Lily Carmichael trilogy, so I don’t see me getting to any Stephen King for quite some time.

    1. I read (and adored!) DANGEROUS CURVES AHEAD and WARNING SIGNS–Better carry them around with you so when you can grab a couple of minutes you can read. Haven’t read THE PERFECT MATCH or SUMMER AT MUSTANG RIDGE yet, but they’re in the queue. Good luck with PIECES! Can’t wait to see how that comes out.

  2. Hey Suze! I’m on an urban fantasy kick right now. I’m finishing up Cecy Robson. Then, later today I’m going to B&N to get Kate Locke’s book 3!!

Leave a Reply

