Damn That Kristan Higgins! by J Monkeys

Hiddey Ho Scribblers.  J Monkeys here.  It’s a poorly kept secret that we writers like to read.  I mean honestly, one of my top three things to do in this entire world is to read a good book.  Whenever I’m stressed or overwhelmed, all I really want to do is to bury myself in a good story and escape.  My overwhelmed-ness is pretty high right now.  My To Do list is WAY longer than will possibly be able to be done in the foreseeable future.  I finally had a few hours today to make some progress.  How did I spend my time?  You guessed it – reading.

I got a copy of a new-ish Kristan Higgins book this summer and it’s been languishing on my To-Be-Read shelf for a few months.  While I like Kristan very much personally, I don’t generally love contemporary romance and I hadn’t gotten to it yet.  Then this happened.

giggly-boo reading higginsMy son, Giggly-Boo, got a hold of the book.  He’s two months into kindergarten.  His reading ability is limited to ten words at this point.  But he seemed to be enjoying The Best Man. The book was handy (after I brought it in from the car) and I stuck it on my nightstand.  I started it last night – got 15 pages in and fell asleep.  That happens most nights, no matter what I’m reading ~ it’s certainly no reflection on Ms. Higgins!  I woke up early this am and since it was cold in my house, I didn’t want to get out of bed.  So I used that excuse to read.

Here it is, 1:30 in the afternoon, I’m unshowered, the kids will be home in a few minutes, I have accomplished absolutely NOTHING today.  Except finish this wonderful book!  So again, I say, Damn You Kristan Higgins!  Now I can’t wait to read the other Blue Heron novels, at least one of which is currently available. 

the best manThis was a WONDERFUL romance.  If you like to watch realistic, relate-able characters fall in love, fighting it all the way, then The Best Man is totally for you.  It was laugh-out-loud funny at times while other bits put tears in my eyes.  I’m seriously hoping that my buddy Kristan turns her talents to Jeremy.  I’m pretty sure his is a man/man romance that I’d love to read.  

So, now I’m sucked in to a contemporary romance series set in the vineyards of upstate NY.  There are a ton of characters who will need their own story some day.  That’s two contemporary romance authors on my must read list.  Madame Higgins and that wonderful Sugar/Ginger Jamison.  Thanks ladies.

While I didn’t get anything crossed off my to do list today, I did get a much-needed break.  Now, back to the grindstone.

3 thoughts on “Damn That Kristan Higgins! by J Monkeys”

  1. Sometimes, you just need to give in to those escapes, J. And as far as escapes go, a good book is better than most. I did love The Best man and have just started the recently released The Perfect Match, the second book in the Blue Heron series. Kristan’s books are my go to books for a guaranteed feel good read.

Leave a Reply

