Redefining Nanowrimo Success by Vivienne Lynge

Hello Everybody!  Vivienne Lynge here!

Today is the last day of Nanowrimo 2013 and I wanted to give you all a little update on my progress.  I have been saying for about two months that I will be finishing the first draft of Sometimes before the end of the year or I won’t be moving into 2014.  November and Nano were to be my big push to get me there.

Well……It’s the end of the month and while I haven’t finished the first draft, I am 14,000 words closer.  Given all of the other things I had going on this month, two kids, two jobs, a busy husband, PTO volunteer responsibilities, and a chaotic household that I’m trying to get under control, I’m calling 14,000 words a success.

This is what I love about Nanowrimo: 50,000 words this month was just not possible for me.  Even 35,000 wasn’t gonna happen.  But I did write 14,000 new words on a story on which I had lost focus.  Frankly, I’ve written about 20,000 words all year and 14k were in the last couple of weeks.  I’ve needed to refocus.  Re-energize.  And Nano helped me do that.

I am still committed to finishing the first draft of Sometimes ASAP.  In fact, I’m going to spend some time on Monday, pulling all the pieces of the book together.  It’s a bit scattered at the moment.  I bet that once I do that, I’ll have a partial manuscript somewhere in the 65,000 word range.  I’ll be only about 25,000 words short.  And I know I can write that in fairly short order.  Plus I have at least 2 really exciting scenes to write that will probably be half that word count.  So December 31st is still a possibility.  Even if I only get another 14,000 words written by then, that makes a January 30th first draft finish a done deal!

Here’s my very favorite secret: You define success for your endeavors.  It is perfectly all right to modify your definition and keep plugging away.

2 thoughts on “Redefining Nanowrimo Success by Vivienne Lynge”

  1. Yay! You are 14,000 words closer, and just because Nano is over doesn;t mean you stop. Keep up the momentum. Dedicate a time of your day just for writing. Give yourself an easy goal of 500 words and just keep going like Nano is till going on.

    I didn’t make it to 50,000 either, but I learned through the process what my comfort zone word count is. So when I sign my next contract, you can bet I will be factoring that number in when establishing deadline dates. And never again will I agree to a deadline during the holidays. Yoo busy.

    Now for me I must get back to writing, Nano or no Nano. I’m at 35,000, and the day is still young.

Leave a Reply

