Heroes by Emma Leigh Reed

What makes a hero?  The definition of a hero is a person, typically a man, who is admired or idealized for courage, outstanding achievements, or noble qualities. Who is your hero? When I was a kid, my daddy was my hero. He could do anything, make anything better. Regardless of how old I have gotten, my dad can still make things better with just a smile, a hug or just a cup of coffee and a chat.

As my children grow, I wonder who their heroes are. My oldest at the start of her college years had stated her hero was her younger brother who inspired her to become a speech and language pathologist. Her Papa was also her hero. Do heroes change as we mature and change, or do we add other heroes to those who are already established as heroes in our lives?
As I write my heroes in my books, they change with what maybe going on in my life. They can be fierce and demanding, or gentle and sentimental depending on what I’m feeling, but in the end they are the ones that give the girl what she really needs.  What do I look for in a hero?  I want someone who will make me their priority in life, someone who loves me when I’m down and just need to be held, and someone who inspires me to be a better person.
So whether you write, or are a reader, what is your ideal hero? Or who is your real life hero? What makes a hero? Hard work and perseverance, or is it someone that is just always there?

We all need heroes in our lives, and we all need to strive to be a hero in someone else’s life. To me there is nothing better in life than being someone’s hero – someone that they can look up to, come to for support for anything and always be there for them

In TRUSTING LOVE, which centers around domestic violence, I try to incorporate the emotional anguish around trying to get out of a situation which is harmful, whether it be physically or emotionally. This story was a difficult one for me to write as it incorporates the emotions that I felt in getting out of a relationship involving abuse. It takes a long time to be able to trust again, but as with all my books I was to give the gift of hope – hope that broken trust can be healed by the power of love.

TRUSTING LOVE is available on Amazon.com.

trusting love COVER

~~~

author headshotEmma Leigh Reed has lived in New Hampshire all her life. She has fond memories of the Maine coastline and incorporates the ocean into all her books. She lives in a small town with her three children, although now it is mostly her and her Springer Spaniel to keep her company as empty-nesting has started. Her life has been touched and changed by her son’s autism – she views life through a very different lens than before he was born. Growing up as an avid reader, it was only natural for Emma Leigh to turn to creating the stories for others to enjoy.

GIVEAWAY:  Choice of print copy of TRUSTING LOVE, or ebook

Find her on:

Web page:  www.emmaleighreed.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Emma-Leigh-Reed-Author/392232914212183

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/emmaleighreed

5 thoughts on “Heroes by Emma Leigh Reed”

  1. Welcome, Emma. Heroes in my mind are people who give selflessly. They consider others before they consider themselves. They are kind, thoughtful, and brave. My husband is my hero. His strength, sense of fairness, and his never ending capacity for love and patience amaze me every day. He is part of every hero I write. Thanks for sharing your story with us!

  2. My son is one of my heroes. Committing his life to serving our country . So that I have the right to do what I am right now.Stating freely who my hero is .

Leave a Reply

