Aaron Sorkin is the best writer I’ve never read by Vivienne Lynge

Happy Easter Monday world!  It’s me, Vivienne Lynge, popping in to say “Hi!”  I hope you had a lovely spring holiday weekend.  Somehow, I was able to stay out of the kid’s shocking candy haul.  Yes, my children are the beneficiaries of mildly competing grandmothers.   Add that to the goodies left by the bunny, and the treasures found in our annual graveyard egg hunt and I’ve got 3 kids with a gallon zip bag o’candy.  Each.  Sigh.

But that’s not what I want to write about today.  Today, I’m tackling a topic near and dear to my heart as a lover of a good story: a favorite author. 

aaron sorkinI love Aaron Sorkin.  There.  I’ve said it.   Can I say he’s one of my favorite authors when I’ve never even read his work?  Yes I can.  I’ve watched his work.  Religiously. 

A Few Good Men?  Awesome.   The American President?  LOVED it!  The West Wing – I can probably recite it.  The Newsroom – love it – can’t wait for season 2 to arrive on DVD.

Now, here’s the tougher question:  What is it about his writing that appeals to me?  First, I like that his stories are smart.   I feel like I learn a little something about the world.  The political stories are usually told from a liberal point of view, but they still respect the conservative side and portray conservatives as thoughtful people with serious concerns, not as gun-happy, narrow-minded, religious zealots.

I like that these stories are fast paced and often funny, again in a smart way.  You gotta be paying attention to the dialogue to get the joke.   Aaron is the king of walk-and-talk stories where much of the action takes place during conversations between one meeting and another. 

Another favorite author of mine has a new book out next week: Lynn Kurland.  Yes, I’ll be declaring April 29th, as Lynn Kurland Day, this year.  Don’t expect that I’ll do anything until I’ve finished reading Dreams of Lilacs.  

These medieval Kurland stories are my favorites – time travel  or not.  Kurland writes characters better than many and as well as the best.  Her heroines are ladies you’d love to hang out with and her heroes are fellas you’d consider trading your own husband for. 

One of the things I like best about her books, is that her stories are equally about the hero falling in love with the heroine as they are the reverse and more traditional romance.   A few of her books actually lean more heavily on the side of it being the hero’s story rather than that heroine.   If you are looking for a few hours of joy, consider picking up a Kurland.  You won’t be sorry!

Writer friends, do you do this?  Analyze your favorite writers and try to figure out what you like about them?  Who are your favs?

2 thoughts on “Aaron Sorkin is the best writer I’ve never read by Vivienne Lynge”

  1. Hi Viv! Writing has ruined my ability to zone out and enjoy a good story. I’m constantly analyzing the plot structure, dialogue and characterization of books and movies. It probably drives my husband crazy, but I can’t help myself. At the movies I’m like, “This is totally what’s coming…and here’s why.” It infuriates my husband that I’m usually right, LOL. As for favorites, I couldn’t even begin!

    1. I think it’s a writer thing. I can usually call the end of a movie, long before we get there. I called the ending of The Village by M. Night Schyamalan from the parking lot before we entered the theater.

Leave a Reply

