Chapter 2

Sugar here, calling myself out for not posting this morning like I was supposed to. But I had 2 good reasons. I thought next Monday was my day.  AND today was my last day at work. I have worked in the same place for seven years. My very first job out of college. I love my coworkers and my building, but I don’t love the job anymore.  I was finding myself so exhausted, so stressed out that I couldn’t write.  My brain just couldn’t handle another thing and there were times when I was so overwhelmed by it all that I just didn’t want to get out of bed.  I know they call it work for a reason, but I knew I couldn’t go on like that. So I made the decision to leave.  I’m not going to be able to survive on writing alone. I’m going to work but at job that won’t suck the life out of me.

I need to write. Some people do it as a hobby. They can pick  it up and put it down when they want. But I need to write and when I can’t do it I feel bad, like I’m depriving myself of some sort of essential nutrient. And that job was making it hard for me to do what I love. So today was my last day and while I have very good memories of that place I don’t for one moment regret  saying goodbye.  I have two books coming out this fall. I’m under contract for three more. I am lucky. I know it’s a blessing to have these things when so many writers are dying to get where I am. So I am going to take this opportunity now, because I don’t I’ll always wish I had.

I feel like I started chapter one of my adult life there. Now it’s time for me to start working on chapter 2.

4 thoughts on “Chapter 2”

  1. Funny how life “evolves”, Sugar. I used to be one of those people who could write…or not write and be fine either way. Not so any more. If I get too caught up in the “business” side of being an author and don’t have time to write, I get grumpy and even depressed.Which of course leads to exhaustion and stress, both of which are definitely the enemy of creativity. Good that you recognized it and made the necessary change. You’re going to do great!

  2. This is the right decision, Sugar, and you’re brave for making it. We might not be making a living writing YET, but it’ll happen. I predict in a couple of years you won’t even need the supplemental job. Livin’ the dream, baby, livin’ the dream.

Leave a Reply

