You’ve Got To Have Friends

Hi everyone. Thea, home from National where I didn’t attend as many workshops as I should have. But that gave me the opportunity to catch up with several old friends whom I only see once a year, briefly, and on the run between workshops.

I’m still trying to figure out this friendship phenomenon: that there are people you meet and connect with at conference, and you only see them once a year, and yet, it’s like you’ve seen them often and so only need five minutes or fifteen or a half hour to get updated, and off you go, looking forward to seeing them again next year.

And then there are the more profound friendships that last for decades, friends you depend on in moments of author and personal crisis. Friends in whom you confide your problems and your deepest dreams. Friends you talk to every week, or every other day because you bolster each other, lift each other’s spirits, push each other to go further, do more, not quit, and ultimately succeed.

Each of those friendships is treasured and nurtured because we’re a part of this amazing community of romance authors and the comfort of that cocoon of others, whom we’ve grown to love, sharing that experience sustains us and pushes us to keep moving, keep hoping, keep reaching.

It’s beyond a blessing. I can’t imagine my life without my friends, without their counsel, support, friendship and love, and seeing them yearly at conference, monthly at RWA meetings, talking weekly on the phone carries me forward in ways impossible to define, but which enriches my life beyond any other friendships I’ve ever known.

What about your writer friendships? Are they fresh and new, or of long-standing and can’t-live-without?

Thea Devine is the author of more than two dozen historical and contemporary erotic romances. Beyond the Night, the sequel to The Darkest Heart will be an October 2014 Pocket Star release.

2 thoughts on “You’ve Got To Have Friends”

  1. Thea, an inspiring post, indeed. Friends. Can’t do without them, yes, I love my writer friends, and all those friends that have passed through my life and those that are stamped on my heart and those that are still around and I cherish. Few those. Chosen and crucial.

    In my tennis career, I was coached by the best, one being Althea Gibson, the 1957-58 Wimbledon winner. She was local in New Jersey, where I resided at the time, and coached me for three or more years. Our friendship grew beyond coaching tennis. When she announced that she was leaving the area, I broke down and wept. “No worries,” said she. “The people we meet pass through your life, and leave their mark.” Indelibly. I have quoted her many times over to others. We meet and know so many, they can’t all be our friends, not at once, but we remember. Isn’t that true?

Leave a Reply

