Don’t Be Guilty of #Word Crimes!

Hey there! Casey here!

Recently, Weird Al released another album which shot straight to number 1 on the Billboard Chart. Not since 1963 has a comedy album taken the top spot. Kudos to Weird Al!

And lucky for us writers, he’ s addressed a pressing issue – #Word Crimes! Please watch the following instructional video.

Be sure to laugh out loud if you feel so moved!

 

And then, please reflect upon Weird Al’s wisdom.

In an age where social media reigns supreme, it does seem like grammar is becoming a lost art. Sure, for us writers, solid knowledge of grammar is a must.  But it wasn’t until I chortled my way through this song, that I realized how many of these  mistakes also drive me mad.

Now, to be fair, before I began seriously writing, I’d forgotten some of those rules too. Comma placement continues to stump me. See the previous sentence – I probably used too many commas.  I don’t always punctuate dialog properly and the distinction between blond and blonde often baffles me (largely because publishers all handle it differently).

I am, by no means, a grammar nit-picker but one thing that does drive me nuts is spelling words wrong on purpose.

I’m looking at you SyFy Channel. For shame!!

I’m curious to know – which grammar mistakes drive you batty?

 

7 thoughts on “Don’t Be Guilty of #Word Crimes!”

  1. Good post. Here’s one for you Casey. With the rule for I and me. For example, Here is a picture of Stephen and _me__ calling a square dance. Stephen and_I__ are calling a square dance in this picture. Is that correct? And why? I have the answer to give you, but first, would you like to answer which is correct, which isn’t?

    1. I’ll jump in for Casey on this one (since I happen to know it). Use “me” when referring to yourself as an object and “I” when referring to yourself as the subject. An easy test is to take out the additional name and see if the sentence still works. ie: Here is a picture of me. Here is a picture of I, wouldn’t work.

  2. I loved this, Casey. Clearly, we all need a refresher now and then! I think your comma usage above is correct, but I’ve been known to use them a bit gratuitously myself:-) Incorrect use of contractions and possessive pronouns bugs me because for me they just make sense. Their/they’re, its/it’s. Grammar is one of those things you could study for a lifetime and never remember all the rules!

    1. So true on the contractions! That’s one of those errors that becomes immediately obvious when you see it, but I find it’s also an easy mistake to make too. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

