Debt-Proof Living by Mary Hunt: A Review

Hello, Readers,

Debt-Proof-LivingTypically, I review fiction, romance particularly. But when I was asked to review Debt-Proof Living by Mary Hunt, I read the book’s description and jumped at it. Here’s what it says:

Your fool-proof guide to paying off debt, planning for the future, and breaking free of our debt-loving culture.

The consumer credit industry wants us to believe that debt is necessary to bridge the gap between our pitiful incomes and the lifestyles we desire. But the problem is not that we don’t have enough money. It’s that we don’t know how to manage the money we already have. And until we learn that, more money will never be enough.

In this life-changing book, Mary Hunt shows you how to live a rich, fulfilling life without any consumer debt. By applying her simple principles and specific methods, you will learn how to effectively manage and maximize the money you have. No more guessing, wondering, or worrying. Just peace and a more abundant life. What have you got to lose?

So, like I said, I jumped at it. What did I have to lose? Nothing, except debt, maybe.

However, since I just finished reading the book, I can’t say I am out of debt already, but I took some of Mary’s eye-opening techniques and have started using them in a day to day spending plan. I haven’t tried all of her ideas. I think with many of these financial books, you take from them what is pertinent to you and leave the rest behind. But, you know what? She’s okay with that. In fact, she says don’t worry about starting this perfectly. Just get started. As long as you are managing your money according to the plan, you will begin to move toward success. It may feel confining at first, which I’ll admit it has, but each day gets better.

Mary’s most important point in the book: “Money is not for spending. It is for managing first and then spending.”

That was one of the many eye-openers for me. I think our society has trained us to see this the other way around. And I thank Mary Hunt for straightening my thinking out. I look forward to living debt-free.

2 thoughts on “Debt-Proof Living by Mary Hunt: A Review”

  1. I’ll have to check this out, Katy. I could definitely use some money management tips! i’m a spend first, manage later kind of gal, myself. Thanks for passing on the info!

  2. I discovered Mary Hunt a long time ago. Can’t say I’ve followed her plan to a T (I’d be in a different place now if I had, LOL!), but I do implement some of her ideas. She has a website with free financial calculators and some free content, but you do need to buy a (reasonably priced) subscription for a lot of the content. It’s easy to get sucked into reading the forums, so be careful if you’ve got other things you should be doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

