You Talkin’ To Me?

Okay, people. Confession time. This is a biggie in my house. So maybe if I say it out loud, I’ll be more conscious of it.

I talk to myself. A lot.

Oh, you’re not surprised? You do too, don’t you? And it drives your husband crazy, right? Mine too. He never knows if I’m talking to him, my son, the cat, the tv or the wall.

Well, why should he? I ask myself. But then, we’re always talking to each other, even about the most mundane things, like “I’m taking out the garbage.” So, John reasons, how is he supposed to know that I’m not talking to him?

People, I hate it when he uses logic. So I did what any self-respecting author would do: I wrote a lyric.

I live in my imagination
conversations are ongoing there
you don’t have a prayer
are you talking to me
no, I’m talking to me
well, how would I know
your voice is so low
so what if I do
what’s my talking to you?
at least give me a clue
if the conversation’s here
or it’s somewhere over there
please signal with a bell
so at least I can tell
if you’re talking to me
or still talking to you.

There, that solves the problem altogether. Want to confess? DO you talk to yourself?

Thea Devine’s books defined erotic historical romance. “Beyond the Night,” the sequel to “The Darkest Heart” will be an October 2014 eBook release from Pocket Star.

3 thoughts on “You Talkin’ To Me?”

  1. I talk mostly to myself in my head…the chatter is incessant! I try to keep it to myself though. No use driving everyone else crazy:-) As it is, my husband has selective hearing, so if I want him to actually listen, I have to say what I mean, mean what I say, and annunciate, LOL. Gotta love “man hearing”.

  2. LOL. Yup, I do it too, talk in my head or aloud and lately I have begun singing too. If I sing aloud, my husband joins in. He doesn’t complain and is quite accommodating, but like Paula said of her husband, he does have selective hearing. If I need any kind of discussion, I have to say, hey, this one is for you. Fun post Thea.

    1. Oh yes, the selective hearing — John always hears me muttering, sometimes claims he can’t hear me when I’m engaging in normal discourse. Maybe it’s an age thing, talking to yourself: a verbal to do list to keep yourself on track minute to minute.

      Or maybe I’m just nuts.

      Thea

Leave a Reply

